ATU to Celebrate Commencement May 9-11

Arkansas Tech University will confer approximately 1,700 academic credentials during five spring 2019 graduation ceremonies May 9-11 at John E. Tucker Coliseum in Russellville.

Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus will conduct its graduation ceremony at 7 p.m. on Thursday, May 9.

Arkansas Tech will host a commencement ceremony for its Graduate College at 7 p.m. on Friday, May 10.

Graduates from the College of Education and the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences will walk in a 10 a.m. ceremony on Saturday, May 11.

The 2 p.m. Saturday commencement will feature graduates from the College of Arts and Humanities and the College of eTech.

The final commencement ceremony of the weekend will begin at 6 p.m. Saturday. It will include graduates from the College of Business, the College of Natural and Health Sciences and those earning an associate’s degree or an undergraduate certificate from the campus in Russellville.

The 10 a.m. Saturday ceremony will include the induction of ATU alumni Truman Hill of Russellville, Major Gen. Gary W. Johnston of Fort Belvoir, Va., George C. Mitchell III of Denton, Texas, and Lt. Col. William J. Sidebottom of Springfield, Va., into the Arkansas Tech Hall of Distinction.

Arkansas Tech will also recognize its most outstanding seniors — Alfred J. Crabaugh Award winner Jayson Simmons of Jacksonville, Margaret Young Award winner Brooklyn Woodworth of Harrison and Jill Lestage Brown Service Leadership Award winner Sydney Stone of Clarksville — on Saturday.

For more information about Arkansas Tech commencement, contact the Tech Registrar’s Office at (479) 968-0272 or visit