ATU Students Attend Washburn Leadership Challenge

ATU Students 2020 Washburn Leadership Challenge
Photographed (from left-to-right): Lyndsie Wyatt, Olivia Huffman, Emery Ashcraft, Sabria Trotter and Kade Massey.

Five students represented Arkansas Tech University at the 2020 Washburn University Leadership Challenge March 5-6 in Topeka, Kan.

ATU students Emery Ashcraft of Hot Springs, Olivia Huffman of Conway, Kade Massey of White Hall, Sabria Trotter of Warren and Lyndsie Wyatt of Mayflower participated in simulations that led them to make individual and team leadership decisions. They also attended a banquet where the keynote speaker was Veronica Byrd, site coordinator of the Pine Ridge Partnership Parents as Teachers program.

This was the 10th annual Washburn University Leadership Challenge. Between the university and high school divisions, a record 44 teams participated.

Other universities represented at the event were Baker University, Fort Hays State University, Kansas State University, McPherson College, Metropolitan Community College-Maple Woods, Midland University, Southwestern College, Union College, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (two teams) and Wartburg College.

Learn more at