Main content
Home Archived News ATU, SouthArk Enhance Access for Students

ATU, SouthArk Enhance Access for Students

Image of

Fifteen bachelor's degrees at Arkansas Tech University are more accessible to students at South Arkansas Community College following the adoption of a memorandum of understanding on Tuesday, Feb. 5.

The MOU was signed by Dr. Robin E. Bowen, ATU president, and Dr. Barbara Jones, SouthArk president.

"Arkansas Tech University is excited to begin this new partnership with South Arkansas Community College in El Dorado," said Bowen. "It is our intention to offer the graduates of SouthArk with a seamless transition into Arkansas Tech University and access to bachelor's degree completion. This model is consistent with our stackable degrees approach at ATU and our desire to serve learners from all regions of our great state. We express our appreciation to our colleagues at SouthArk for their collaboration on this initiative and their shared commitment to student success."

Under the terms of the MOU, any student transferring from SouthArk to ATU who has completed courses identified in specific programs of study, completed required transfer procedures and gained admission to ATU will receive full transfer credit for previously earned hours in his or her major field of study.

Programs and courses covered by the MOU include ATU's Bachelor of Arts degrees in communication speech, communication theater, criminal justice, cultural and geospatial studies, English, fine arts, history, journalism broadcast option, journalism print option, journalism public relations option, political science, psychology and sociology as well as Bachelor of Science degrees in biology and chemistry.

The terms of the agreement allow for the possibility of more degree programs being added in the future provided they are approved by the presidents of the two institutions and the Arkansas Department of Higher Education.

Visit to learn more about Arkansas Tech University.

Photographed (from left-to-right): Dr. Barbara Jones, South Arkansas Community College president, and Dr. Robin E. Bowen, Arkansas Tech University president.