ATU Honored for Student Civic Engagement Programs

Voter Friendly Campus Badge 2021-22

Arkansas Tech University is the lone institution of higher education in Arkansas to earn the Voter Friendly Campus designation for 2021-22.

Created in 2016, the Voter Friendly Campus initiative is the result of a partnership between the Campus Vote Project and professional organization NASPA, Student Affairs Professionals in Higher Education.

Institutions applying to earn the Voter Friendly Campus designation were required to write a campus plan about how they would engage student voters in 2020, facilitate voter education and engagement efforts on their campus and write a final analysis on their efforts. In the end, 231 campuses from 37 states were selected for the distinction.

“Arkansas Tech University is pleased to be on the leading edge of encouraging civic engagement among its student body,” said Dr. Keegan Nichols, ATU vice president for student affairs. “It is essential that we create leaders who are aware of the world around them and prepared to create solutions that benefit our society. That is the focus of our civic engagement efforts at Arkansas Tech, and we look forward to living up to the Voter Friendly Campus designation by continuing our non-partisan efforts on an ongoing basis.”

Learn more at