ATU Faculty Milestones, Retirements Noted

Arkansas Tech University honored its faculty members who reached milestones in their service to the institution during the 2016-17 academic year and those who are retiring during a ceremony at the end of the spring 2017 semester.

The following faculty members were recognized by Dr. Mohamed Abdelrahman, vice president for academic affairs, for their milestones on the ATU faculty:

20 Years
Holly Ruth Gale, associate professor of music
Dr. Jan Jenkins, professor of history
Dr. Cathi McMahan, associate professor of recreation and park administration
Dr. Johnette Moody, associate professor of computer and information science
Dr. Thomas Nupp, professor of wildlife science
Dr. Jeff Robertson, professor of astrophysics
Dr. Sam Worley, professor of English

25 Years
Donna Sherrill, instructor of mathematics
Dr. Cheryl Monfee, professor of nursing
Dr. Joseph Stoeckel, professor of fisheries science
Dr. Deborah Wilson, professor of English

35 Years
Dr. Ardith Morris, professor of communication and theatre

40 Years
Dr. Stanley Lombardo, professor of English
Philip Parker, professor of music

Retiring faculty members were recognized by the deans of their respective colleges:

College of Arts and Humanities
Ty Brunson, associate professor of art, 18 years
Dr. M. Diane Gleason, associate professor of history, 11 years
Gary Morris, visiting instructor of music, 15 Years
Theresa Johnson, interim director of the Arkansas Tech Museum, 26 Years

College of Business
Dr. Michael Benefield, associate professor of finance, 21 years
Dr. David Roach, professor of management, 33 years

College of Education
Dr. Annette Holeyfield, professor of health and physical education, 32 years
Dr. Rebecca Shopfner, associate professor of teaching, learning and leadership, 17.5 years

College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Dr. Theresa Herrick, professor of recreation and parks administration, 32 years
Dr. James Collins, professor of agriculture, 34 years

Natural and Health Sciences
Ms. Brenda Lauffart, visiting instructor of chemistry, 10 years
Ms. Linda Buckholtz, assistant professor of nursing, 18 years

Dr. David Underwood, professor of education and associate vice president for academic affairs, was also honored for his upcoming retirement following 16 years of service to ATU.

The late Dr. Lyman Harris received posthumous recognition for his status as professor emeritus of rehabilitation science.