ATU College of Education Wins Frank Murray Award

Crabaugh Hall ATU

The Arkansas Tech University College of Education is one of 26 teacher preparation providers from the United States and abroad recognized with the 2021 Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement from the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).

According to CAEP, the honor is reserved for teacher preparation programs that exhibit “evidence and data trends to achieve accreditation with no stipulations or areas for improvement.”

Arkansas Tech earned CAEP national accreditation for its educator preparation programs in fall 2020.

The Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement is named for the founding president of the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC). CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and TEAC. Murray also served as chairman of the board for TEAC and as an initial member of the CAEP Board of Directors. He was a key advocate for a single set of teacher preparation standards to unify the profession and was instrumental in the merger that created CAEP.

“To be one of 26 in the nation one of two in Arkansas to receive this recognition validates the hard work of our faculty, school partners, students and university,” said Dr. Linda Bean, dean of the ATU College of Education. “I am very proud of our teacher preparation programs and the support provided to both students and faculty. The strong legacy of over 90 years of preparing teachers at Arkansas Tech University will proceed as we continue to improve our programs and prepare our students.”

CAEP reported that providers selected for the Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement advance equity and excellence in educator preparation through purposeful use of self-study procedures and evidence-based reporting that assure quality and support continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 learning.

“Our accreditation pursuits included participation from five colleges within Arkansas Tech University and multiple departments within these colleges,” said Dr. Tim Carter, associate dean of the ATU College of Education. “The efforts of the various colleges were essential in the university receiving this distinguished honor. This award would not be possible without the excellent work of faculty, administrators and staff at Arkansas Tech University and without the ongoing efforts of multiple public-school partners within our state, particularly within the Arkansas River Valley.”

Arkansas Tech offers teacher and leader preparation programs that develop professionals prepared to serve students from birth through PK-12 and adult education.

The ATU College of Education defines its vision as “developing successful and innovative professionals who will internalize, initiate and sustain a commitment to impact individuals in diverse and evolving communities.”

Learn more about the ATU College of Education at