Main content
Home Archived News Atterberry Named ATU Head Football Coach

Atterberry Named ATU Head Football Coach

Image of

Bo Atterberry, 43, was introduced by Arkansas Tech University Director of Athletics Steve Mullins as the 17th head football coach in ATU history on Monday, Dec. 17.

A 1998 graduate of Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Atterberry was head coach at his alma mater from 2014-18. He led the Savage Storm to a five-year record of 33-23 and five consecutive winning seasons.

He was previously head coach at Texas A&M University-Kingsville from 2007-12. He led the Javelinas to two NCAA Division II Playoffs appearances and arrives in Russellville with a career record of 74-47 in 11 seasons as a head coach.

Mullins expressed appreciation to search committee members Abby Davis, senior woman administrator and head tennis coach; Mike Golden, director of strength and conditioning; Dr. Robin Lasey, associate professor of chemistry and faculty athletic representative; Rick Thone, member of the 1971 NAIA national runner-up Wonder Boys and former member of the ATU Board of Trustees; and Brett "Duke" Waldon, associate director of athletics and head athletic trainer.

Atterberry opened his remarks at Monday's press conference by introducing his wife, April, and their daughter, Jax.

"We're incredibly humbled and blessed to have this opportunity," said Atterberry. "The list is extremely long of people who have helped us get into this position. I'm grateful for all of the guidance that I have gotten over the course of my career. I would like to give a special thanks to Southeastern Oklahoma State, my alma mater. It's a special place with special people, and I definitely wouldn't be here without them. As I was leaving, (SOSU) President Sean Burrage said 'man, you're going to have the opportunity to work with a great leader and one cool lady.' Dr. (Robin E.) Bowen, I'm very thankful for your time. Your leadership was evident immediately and continued to permeate the process. I'm thankful and excited to be a part of your team. That team is extremely strong. It was championship caliber from the start of this, beginning with Coach Mullins, Dr. Lasey and the search committee. All the coaching staff I came into contact with was incredible."

Atterberry inherits a Wonder Boys football program that has won 18 conference championships (1931, 1935, 1939, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1954, 1958, 1960, 1961, 1964, 1968, 1970, 1971, 1994 and 1999) and made five postseason national playoffs appearances (1971, 1994, 1999, 2004 and 2009).

"Everyone I came in contact with was very gracious, and you could tell they had a lot of pride and passion for this place," said Atterberry. "That was the most exciting part, and we definitely want to be a part of that. What a beautiful community, of course, and a beautiful campus. I can't wait to start recruiting to this campus. It will be very special. We want to put a product on that field that everyone can be proud of, not only on the field though, but in the community. That's very important to us. Have a never settle mindset, and be able to fight on. It's about former players, former students, this entire community, this campus community and getting all the teams together. We can't be stopped. It will be great. I think we can take the roof off of it."