Glasper Nominated for Good Works Team

Arkansas Tech University’s Tremel Glasper is one of 169 college football players who have been nominated for the 2018 Allstate American Football Coaches Association Good Works Team.

Glasper, a senior wide receiver from Dallas, Texas, has volunteered more than 100 hours this year at the Boys and Girls Clubs of the Arkansas River Valley and Wesley Foundation in Russellville. He serves on the Wesley leadership team for the foundation’s Age to Age tutoring and mentoring program.

“Each nominee has an inspiring story to tell – often times about how they have prevailed over hardships and adversity only to turn around and pour their hearts into helping others,” said David Prendergast, president of the Eastern territory at Allstate Insurance Company and a member of the 2018 voting panel. “It is our privilege at Allstate to come together with the AFCA for the 11th consecutive year to shine a light on these exceptional nominees who set the highest standards of community service and serve as role models for generations to come.”

Glasper made 24 receptions for 213 yards and a touchdown during his first season at Arkansas Tech in 2017. He appeared in all 12 games, helping head coach Raymond Monica’s Wonder Boys finish with an 8-4 overall record and a berth in the 2017 Agent Barry Live United Texarkana Bowl.

A voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team members and prominent college football media members will review submissions from sports information directors across the nation to select the 2018 Good Works Team. Tim Tebow, two-time national champion, Heisman Trophy winner and 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team member, will once again headline the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team voting panel.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team is comprised of 11 players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and 11 players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, the NAIA and one honorary head coach. To be in consideration by Allstate and the AFCA for a nomination, each player must be actively involved with a charitable organization or service group while maintaining a strong academic standing.

The final roster of 22 award recipients and honorary head coach will be unveiled in September.

Speak Your Mind