Arkansas Tech – Ozark Among Henry Awards Finalists


The annual Henry Awards Banquet took place on Tuesday, March 8, concluding the 37th annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism.The conference was March 6-8 in Little Rock. The Henry Awards honor individuals and organizations which have made important contributions to the state’s tourism industry in the preceding year.

Richard W. Davies, executive director of the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism, presided at the banquet and addressed more than 600 attendees concerning tourism issues in Arkansas. Miss Arkansas Alyse Eady assisted in the presentation of the awards.

Ms. Laura Rudolph, Director of Public and External Relations is pictured accepting Arkansas Tech University – Ozark Campus’ finalist plaque in the Community Tourism Development Awards category. This honor is presented annually to an individual or organization which has achieved substantial success in the enhancement of its local resources through imaginative and innovative development efforts.

The Henry Awards have been a feature of the annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism since their debut in 1981. The awards are named for the Henri de Tonti, founder of the Arkansas Post in 1686 and who is often hailed as the first “Arkansas Traveler.”

Prior to the Hall of Fame and Henry Award announcements, Miss Arkansas Alyse Eady performed her “Cowboy Sweetheart” ventriloquism act that won her kudos at the Miss America Pageant.

Governor Mike Beebe, the keynote speaker, thanked those in attendance for their work in supporting a more than $5 billion Arkansas industry. He praised them for “teaching the virtues of Arkansas” to the millions of tourists who annually come to Arkansas.