Arka Tech Staff Honors Award Winners

Members of the Arka Tech student newspaper staff at Arkansas Tech University recently gathered at the Chambers Cafeteria Private Dining Room for an end-of-year social.

In addition to a celebration of the end of the 2011-12 academic year, the gathering also gave staff members an opportunity to recognize four of their own who received 2012 Arkansas College Media Association (ACMA) awards.

Bethany Lacy and Curtis Wooten shared the ACMA first-place award for in-depth reporting, while Billy Hudspeth earned the ACMA first-place award for sports column.

Adam Reeves won third place from ACMA for general column writing.

The Arka Tech is published weekly during the fall and spring semesters.

Janessa Carlton, Samantha Corrigan, Caitlin Holland and Wooten served as managing editors during the 2011-12 academic year. Tommy Mumert, assistant professor of journalism, has served as the staff advisor since 1989.

Click here to learn more about the Arkansas Tech Department of Speech, Theatre and Journalism.

Editor’s Note: Check back with in the days to come for information about 2012 ACMA awards won by the Arkansas Tech literary journal, Nebo.