2010 Alumni Board Members Elected

The Arkansas Tech Alumni Office has announced those elected to the Arkansas Tech Alumni Association Board of Directors for 2010.

The following Tech alumni were elected to the board:

  • John Carter (ECON 2002)
  • Molly Fleming (JOUR 2009)
  • Leslie Miller Harris (SPH 2008)
  • Ronda Hawkins (BUAD 1992)
  • Ann Irwin (ENG 1983)
  • Steve Pfeifer (RP 1971)
  • Kendall Tabor (MUS 1989 & M. Ed 1992)
  • Angela Wyatt (M. Ed 2003)

Those selected will serve a three-year term and will rotate off the board at the end of 2012.  The first meeting for the new board members will be Saturday, February 27.

The ballot for the 2010 Alumni Board of Directors was printed in the autumn 2009 issue of the Tech Action, and voters could select up to eight candidates.

The board is made up of 24 members, and the board meets several times each year to carry out the roles of the Arkansas Tech University Alumni Association.

The roles of the Alumni Association are to provide a means of fellowship and renewing and continuing associations among alumni, faculty and staff.  The Alumni Association also keeps graduates abreast of the current state of Arkansas Tech; to help make sure the public-at-large understands what the institution is about; to take an active role in helping the institution raise funds from alumni, foundations and other sources; to use political influence where possible and appropriate to the benefit of the institution; and to assist with student recruitment, by recognizing promising young students in their communities and encouraging them to consider Tech.

For more information about the Arkansas Tech Alumni Association, email Angela Bonds, director of alumni relations, at abonds@atu.edu.