Alumni Board Holds Final Meeting of 2010

The Arkansas Tech University Alumni Association Board of Directors said farewell to its members who are rotating off the board this year during the group’s final meeting of 2010 on Saturday, Nov. 20.

Howard Ritchie (photographed, second from right), a member of the Arkansas Tech Class of 1970, completed his service as Tech Alumni Board president.

Ritchie passed the gavel to Jim Murphy (photographed, far right), who will serve as Tech Alumni Board president in 2011. Murphy is a 1971 graduate of Arkansas Tech.

Seven other individuals are rotating off the board at the end of 2010 (class year in parentheses):

  • Chad Weisler (’92; photographed, far left)
  • Shirley Drewry Dodd (’59; photographed, second from left)
  • Kellye Holley Cannon (’80)
  • Randy Joe Hamilton (’76)
  • Mike King (’74)
  • Layton Lee (’92)
  • Donna Cotton Parker (’73)

Dodd was elected Arkansas Tech Alumni Board president-elect for 2011 and she will serve as president in 2012.

The Arkansas Tech Alumni Association will conduct voting to select eight new members for the Tech Alumni Board in the fall 2010 issue of Tech Action, which is due to hit mailboxes in the coming weeks.

The candidates for election to the Arkansas Tech Alumni Association Board of Directors for a three-year term from 2011-2013 are (class year in parentheses):

  • Katherine Nunn Bowden (’54)
  • Sue Chiolino (’68)
  • Betty Hawkins Cole (’53)
  • Michelle Green (’93)
  • Brenda Metcalf Hipp (’64)
  • Steve M. Kesner (’77)
  • Tayler Melton (’10)
  • Frances Hendren Starnes (’73)
  • Todd Sweeden (’76)
  • Jim White (’78)
  • John Ross White (’08)
  • Vickie Yates (’79 & ’89)

This will mark the final year in which the Tech Alumni Board is selected under the current procedure.

In October, the Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees adopted a new organizational document for the Arkansas Tech Alumni Association that will streamline the process by which alumni board members are chosen.

Click here to read more about the future of the Arkansas Tech Alumni Board.