SWACUHO Honors Tech's Murrill and Allan

Arkansas Tech students Andrea Allan of Russellville and La Keesha Murrill of Sherwood have been honored by the Southwest Association of College and University Housing Officers (SWACUHO) for their work in the Arkansas Tech Office of Residence Life. Allan (photographed, right), who works as a resident director in Caraway Residence Hall, received the 2010-11 Bob Huss Outstanding Graduate Student Award. “Andrea’s ability to build relationships with all students in her building has allowed some great things to happen,” wrote Kevin Solomon, assistant director of housing, in a letter nominating Allan for her award. “She will most often give much credit to her resident assistant staff. However, the staff has been successful because of their leader. Her building has had great successes in programming, community service, diversity initiatives, alumni involvement and academically.” Murrill (photographed, left), who works as a resident assistant in Jones Residence Hall, was presented with the 2010-11 Gene Ward Outstanding Student Leader Award. “When called upon for any reason, La Keesha has made herself available and has done a wonderful job being the face for our department,” wrote Solomon in a letter nominating Murrill for her award. “She has been our ‘go-to person’ for countless needs and has come through with shining colors each and every time we call on her. The loyalty she has shown to our department over the past four years has been outstanding and worthy of this nomination alone.” SWACUHO includes member institutions from Arkansas, Texas, Oklahoma and Mexico. The organization serves the interests of student housing and residence life on its affiliated campuses. Allan and Murrill received their awards during a SWACUHO conference in Tulsa, Okla., Feb. 20-23.

Click here to learn more about the Arkansas Tech Office of Residence Life.