Advisory Board Updated on College of Business

More than 20 business and community leaders recently gathered for an Arkansas Tech University College of Business Executive Advisory Board meeting to wrap up the 2010-11 academic year and look forward to new possibilities. 
Dr. Robert C. Brown, president of Arkansas Tech, updated the advisory board on ongoing efforts to help more Arkansans complete their bachelor’s degree.
Brown told the audience that there are 100,000 residents of Arkansas who have completed at least 75 percent of the course work necessary to earn a baccalaureate degree but have yet to make it to graduation day.

Arkansas Tech has developed an accelerated degree program that will serve that market by allowing such students to complete a Bachelor of Professional Studies degree within 18 months entirely through online courses.

Dr. Ed Bashaw, dean of the Arkansas Tech College of Business, followed with a presentation that reviewed his first year at the helm of the college.

Bashaw told the advisory board about plans to provide students with more resources to enhance their success, goals for growing enrollment within the College of Business, ideas for new distance learning offerings for business students and possible new degree programs that the College of Business might pursue in the future.

For more information about the Arkansas Tech Accelerated Degree program, call (479) 968-0234 or visit

For more information about the Arkansas Tech College of Business, call (479) 968-0490 or visit

Among those attending the meeting and photographed above were:

(Back row, from left): Russell Apple of First National Bank of Fort Smith, Charles Blanchard of First State Bank, Keith Cogswell of Cogswell Motors, Charles Gordon of Gordon Investment Group, Benny Harris of Liberty Bank of Arkansas, Ryan Holder of Hudson, Cisne and Co., LLP, Mike Jacimore of Arvest Bank, Ron Jackson of Simmons First Bank and Jeff Jones of CenturyLink;

(Front row, from left): Max Mathis of Blackstone Construction, Jim Murphy of Brown and Brown Insurance of Russellville, R. Kevin Norton of Rasco, Winter, Abston, Moore and Associates, Vance Parker of Rose Drug, Jim Petty of Strategic Realty, Craig Rivaldo of Arvest Bank, Gary Sams of Green Bay Packaging, LeMoyne Smith (Ret.) of South-Western Publishing, microlending specialist Dan Wilkins, John Womack of Arvest Bank and Jared Wood of Regions Financial Corporation.

Not photographed, but also attending, was Dan Nicholson of The Nicholson Group.