Academic Restructuring Plan Approved by ATU Board

Arkansas Tech University Logo

The undergraduate and graduate academic programs on the Russellville campus at Arkansas Tech University will be reorganized under five colleges beginning with the 2022-23 academic year following approval by the ATU Board of Trustees on Thursday, Jan. 20.

The faculty-led process yielded a structure that will consist of the Graduate College, the College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM), the College of Arts and Humanities, the College of Business and Economic Development and the College of Education and Health.

An academic restructuring committee consisting of ATU faculty members Dr. Jeff Bright, Dr. Rebecca Callaway, Tracy Cole, Dr. John Krohn, Dr. Jeremy Schwehm, Dr. Jamie Stacy and Dr. Georgeanna “Ann” Wright guided the process during the fall 2021 semester.

Below is a listing of the departments that will be housed in various colleges as of July 1, 2022:

College of STEM
*Biological Sciences
*Engineering and Computing Sciences
*Mathematics and Statistics
*Physical and Earth Sciences

College of Arts and Humanities
*Behavioral Sciences
*Communication and Media Studies
*English and World Languages
*History and Political Science

College of Business and Economic Development
*School of Business
*Agriculture and Tourism

College of Education and Health
*Teaching and Educational Leadership
*Kinesiology and Exercise Science
*Emergency Management, Professional Studies and Student Affairs Administration

“The work done by the academic restructuring committee was exemplary,” wrote Dr. A.J. Anglin, interim vice president for academic affairs, in a memorandum presented to trustees during their meeting. “They followed the restructuring initiative guiding principles and goals with focused, unwavering commitment. During the later part of the fall term and with concerted effort in recent days, faculty members of each of the new colleges and departments were asked to make recommendations for the names of their respective college and departments. This potentially thorny process was harmoniously facilitated by the academic deans.”

In other business on Thursday, the ATU Board of trustees approved:

*a lease of 4.29 acres of ATU property adjacent to the Russellville Fire Department station on North Arkansas Avenue to Pope County that will be utilized to create a central station for Pope County Emergency Medical Services (EMS);

*an annual resolution authorizing expense reimbursement for board members in accordance with Act 1211 of 1995;

*an access easement for Perihelion Solar Inc. at 1605 North Phoenix Avenue;

*continuation of a purchase order with Miller Boskus Lack architect firm in order to begin the process of developing a schematic and design for a new student union and recreation center facility;

*and formal certification of the number of days of cash on hand contained in the annual ATU audit report in accordance with Act 69 of 2021.

In personnel matters, the ATU Board of Trustees approved the employment of the following full-time faculty and staff members:

*Dr. A.J. Anglin, interim vice president for academic affairs, effective Jan. 2, 2022; Ed Armstrong, university counsel, effective Jan. 2, 2022; Jessica Brown, adult education instructor through ATU-Ozark Campus, effective Nov. 1, 2021; Jami Fisher, associate vice president for administration and finance, effective Jan. 3, 2022; LaQuetta Garlington-Seals, academic counselor at Arkansas Tech Career Center, effective Jan. 3, 2022; Dr. Bhaskar Ghosh, visiting assistant professor of computer and information science, for the spring 2022 semester; Mark Maxwell, workforce education faculty of EMT/paramedic at Arkansas Tech Career Center, effective Jan. 4, 2022; Md Abus Salam Siddique, visiting instructor of computer and information science, for the spring 2022 semester; Lyndsay Simpson, academic advisor, effective Dec. 13, 2021; and Rachel Whitman, director of budget, effective Jan. 31, 2022.

Trustees approved the promotion of Alisha Williams, director of corporate and foundation relations, to executive director of advancement operations effective Jan. 4, 2022. She succeeds Jayne Jones, who retired from that role on Dec. 31, 2021.

A position change request from Dr. Barbara J. Johnson was approved by trustees. She transitioned from vice president for academic affairs into a full-time teaching role in her position as professor of student affairs administration as of Jan. 2, 2022.

The board accepted resignations from the following ATU employees:

*Dr. Rohollah Moghadam, assistant professor of electrical engineering, effective Dec. 10, 2021; Chris Nook, assistant volleyball coach, effective Dec. 15, 2021; Dr. Jeff Robertson, associate vice president for academic affairs and professor of astrophysics, effective Dec. 17, 2021; Dr. Richard Schoephoerster, dean of the Graduate College and professor of engineering, effective Feb. 2, 2022; and Felisha Weaver, director of publications and creative services, effective Jan. 18, 2022.