Virtual Celebration of Graduates Available

ATU Diploma Covers

Arkansas Tech University recognized 1,959 graduates from its 2020 spring and summer terms with a virtual celebration at the close of the second summer term.

The virtual celebration is available for viewing at

Representatives from the ATU Office of the Registrar contacted graduates and provided them the opportunity to submit photos for the celebration.

Those photos are available for viewing during the virtual event, as are video messages from Dr. Robin E. Bowen, ATU president, and Dr. Barbara J. Johnson, ATU vice president for academic affairs.

Bowen and Johnson confer degrees upon the graduates from ATU’s Russellville campus, while Chancellor Bruce Sikes and Chief Academic Officer Dr. Sheila Jacobs confer degrees upon ATU-Ozark Campus graduates.

The deans of each college — Dr. Jeff Aulgur (College of eTech), Dr. Linda Bean (College of Education), Dr. Jeffrey Cass (College of Arts and Humanities), Dr. Judy Cezeaux (College of Engineering and Applied Sciences), Dr. Russ Jones (College of Business), Dr. Jeff Robertson (College of Natural and Health Sciences) and Dr. Richard Schoephoerster (Graduate College) — share a tailored message for their students.

Schoephoerster also recognizes Alysha Daley of Manhattan, Kan., as the recipient of the 2020 Jim Ed McGee Award as the most outstanding graduate student at ATU.

Dr. Keegan Nichols, ATU vice president for student affairs, presents the winners of Arkansas Tech’s 2020 undergraduate senior awards — Bailey Greenwood of Des Arc (Margaret Young Award), Abiola Sasore of Dunleer, Ireland (Alfred J. Crabaugh Award) and Danielle Duggan of De Queen (Jill Lestage Brown Service Leadership Award).

Richard Harris, chief student officer at ATU-Ozark Campus, introduces Sarah Womack and George McGehee, both of Ozark, as the recipients of the top student awards at ATU-Ozark Campus for the 2019-20 academic year. Womack captured the Bob Adams Student Award, while McGehee earned the ATU-Ozark Campus Spirit Award.

Amanda Johnson, director of Norman Career Services at ATU, and Dave Pinson, president of the ATU Alumni Association, speak to the graduates about their future opportunities and responsibilities as ATU alumni.

The national anthem and alma mater are performed by Holly Ruth Gale, ATU associate professor of music.

A commencement program is available for download as a keepsake of the virtual celebration.

Graduates from the ATU campus in Russellville will be able to pick up their diplomas from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. on the following dates:

Monday, Aug. 17-Tuesday, Aug. 18
Dr. Robert Charles Brown and Jill Lestage Brown Hall First Floor Lobby

Wednesday, Aug. 19-Thursday, Aug. 20, and Monday, Aug. 24-Thursday, Aug. 27
Brown Hall Third Floor Lobby

Diplomas not picked up by end of day Thursday, Aug. 27, will be mailed to graduates.

Graduates are asked to log in to OneTech and verify their mailing address by selecting “Update Address and Phone” in the personal information channel. International students should update their mailing address to reflect where they want their diploma mailed.