Percussion Ensemble Plans Monday Performance

The Arkansas Tech University Percussion Ensemble will perform at 7:30 p.m. Monday, Nov. 13, in Witherspoon Auditorium.

Nathan Brady, Noah Foster, Cadence Graves, Marlon King, Eli Mitchell, Kira Odom, Brandon Reynolds, Jansen Scribner, Abbey Sterling and Katlyn Tipton will operate under the direction of Philip Parker, ATU professor of music.

Dr. Nicolas del Grazia (clarinet) and Alisa Coffey (harp) will perform with the ensemble.

Pieces scheduled for performance are “Aboriginal Hoedown,” “Frolic for Six Marimbas” by Evan Mobley, “ImPULSE” by Austin Franklin and “Five Pieces for Clarinet and Percussion Orchestra” by Parker.

Parker has announced he will retire from ATU in May 2024.

A specialist in percussion and composition, Parker has served on the ATU faculty since 1977. He composed “Celebration,” which was commissioned as part of the centennial celebration of Arkansas Tech and was later performed by the ATU Symphonic Wind Ensemble at Carnegie Hall in December 2021. Parker received the ATU Faculty Award of Excellence for scholarly activities in 2001 and 2010.

Additional upcoming performances by faculty and students from the ATU Department of Music are listed at

Learn more about the ATU Department of Music at