New ATU Faculty Members Complete Orientation

ATU New Faculty Orientation Fall 2022
Participants in Arkansas Tech University new faculty orientation and faculty members who helped plan the program posed for a photo with Jerry the Bulldog, ATU campus ambassador, at the Hull Building Student Union.

Twenty-three new members of the Arkansas Tech University community participated in an orientation program for incoming faculty members in advance of the fall 2022 semester.

Offered by the ATU Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL), the stated purpose of the program is “to inform and inspire faculty who are new to Arkansas Tech University.”

Participants in the fall 2022 new faculty welcome program were:

  • Dr. Mohammad Amjadi Kashani, assistant professor of mechanical engineering
  • Netlla Cureton, visiting instructor of curriculum and instruction
  • Dr. Donna Curran, instructor of biology
  • Dr. Bhaskar Ghosh, assistant professor of computer and information science
  • Karmen Goodner, visiting instructor of nursing
  • Katelynn Hopson, visiting instructor of accounting
  • Claire Kortyna, assistant professor of English
  • Dr. Aditya Limaye, visiting instructor of accounting
  • Dr. Nathan Mensink, assistant professor of music
  • Dr. Kathleen Myers, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction
  • Tiffany Nance, instructor of psychology
  • Dr. Subha Pratihar, assistant professor of chemistry
  • Phoebe Robertson, assistant professor of music
  • Kasten Searles, visiting instructor of art
  • Abdus Salam Siddique, assistant professor of computer and information science
  • Dr. Mary Trotter, assistant professor of music
  • Kristen Ulsperger, visiting instructor of criminal justice and sociology
  • Kelsey Utne, assistant professor of history
  • Kris Waid-Jones, assistant professor of art
  • Dr. Darrellyn Williams, instructor of biology
  • Janet Winn, visiting instructor of mathematics
  • Dr. Zahra Zamanipour, assistant professor of electrical engineering
  • Dr. Lei Zhang, assistant professor of art

Topics covered during ATU new faculty orientation include technology, student-centered learning, syllabus development, the university’s code of academic integrity, research resources, the role of faculty senate, a tour of ATU-Ozark Campus and an introduction to local community organizations.

Dr. Robin Lasey, professor of chemistry, serves as director for the ATU CETL. Dr. Hanna Norton, professor of journalism, is assistant director.

They are joined on the committee that plans and executes new faculty orientation by:

  • Dr. Chiraz “Soumia” Amrine, assistant professor of chemistry
  • Charity Park, assistant librarian
  • Frances Roberson, assistant professor of communication
  • Dr. Heather Stefanski, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction
  • Dr. Michael Wang, assistant professor of English
  • Dr. Georgeanna “Ann” Wright, assistant professor of health informatics and health information management

The fall 2022 semester at Arkansas Tech will begin with the first day of classes on Wednesday, Aug. 17.