Myers Named ATU Associate VP for Academic Affairs

Dr. Jeanine Myers
Dr. Jeanine Myers

Dr. Jeanine L. Myers will take office as associate vice president for academic affairs at Arkansas Tech University on Friday, July 1.

Dr. Julie Furst-Bowe, ATU interim vice president for academic affairs, announced the appointment to the university community.

“I am pleased that Dr. Myers has accepted this leadership position within the ATU Division of Academic Affairs,” said Furst-Bowe. “Through her academic preparation, track record as a faculty member and administrative experiences, Dr. Myers has earned the respect and admiration of her peers. I look forward to working with her in support of our faculty colleagues and our institutional mission of student access and success.”

Myers earned a Bachelor of Science degree in mathematical sciences from Baylor University, a Master of Science degree in mathematical sciences from Clemson University and a Doctor of Philosophy degree in mathematics from the University of Arkansas.

After teaching mathematics at the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith for five years, Myers joined the ATU faculty as associate professor of mathematics and head of the ATU Department of Mathematics in 2016. She added the duties of ATU interim assistant vice president for student success during the 2020-21 academic year and was promoted to professor of mathematics effective July 2022.

Myers also has experience teaching mathematics at Clemson University, Alice Lloyd College (Ky.), the University of the Ozarks and the University of Arkansas. She has served as chair and vice chair of the Oklahoma/Arkansas section of the Mathematical Association of America.

“My passion is to make a positive impact on society through service to others,” said Myers. “Particularly, my career has focused on serving students, faculty, colleagues and administrators in academia. I look forward to applying those experiences as associate vice president for academic affairs as we fulfill our shared commitment to inspire and empower members of the community to achieve their goals while striving for the betterment of Arkansas, the nation and the world.”