Lea Shares Stories from Public Service With ATU Class

Andrea Lea at ATU 3-11-2021

Arkansas State Auditor Andrea Lea returned to her alma mater on Thursday, March 11, to speak with Arkansas Tech University students about her journey as a public servant.

Lea holds a Bachelor of Science degree in emergency management from ATU. She was back on campus Thursday to speak to Dr. Michael Rogers’ State and Local Government course.

She told Rogers’ students that it was her efforts to help establish a boys’ and girls’ swimming team at Russellville High School that got her involved with community service.

From there, she successfully ran for positions on the Pope County Quorum Court, the Russellville City Council and the Arkansas House of Representatives.

After serving three terms in the Arkansas General Assembly, Lea was elected to her first term as state auditor in 2014 and became the 40th individual to hold the office. She was re-elected as state auditor in 2018. She will complete her second and final term in 2022.

Lea holds one of seven statewide, constitutional offices in Arkansas state government. The others are governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state, land commissioner and treasurer.

Since taking office, Lea has partnered with businesses and utilized technology to gain greater efficiency in returning unclaimed property to owners through the Great Arkansas Treasure Hunt. Reduced operating expenses and enhanced transparency are among her other priorities as state auditor.

Lea is one of seven local leaders scheduled to serve as guest speakers in Rogers’ State and Local Government course during spring 2021.

State Senator Breanne Davis spoke to the class on March 4. Mark Tripp (Russellville City Council), Toby Davis (Perry County judge), Dr. Ernie Enchelmayer (former justice of the peace, Pope County Quorum Court), Chief Joshua McMillian (ATU Department of Public Safety; community policing) and Jeremy Keaster (Russellville School Board) will visit with the class later in the spring semester.

Learn more about the ATU Department of History and Political Science at www.atu.edu/history.