Lamoureux Sworn In as ATU Trustee

Tammy Sisson and Michael Lamoureux 3-17-2022
Michael Lamoureux (right) took the oath of office to become a member of the Arkansas Tech University Board of Trustees from Tammy Sisson (left), Franklin County clerk, at the beginning of the ATU board meeting in Ozark on Thursday, March 17.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson has appointed Michael Lamoureux of Russellville to the Arkansas Tech University Board of Trustees.

Lamoureux’s five-year term will expire on Jan. 14, 2027. He succeeds Eric Burnett of Fort Smith. Burnett served on the board from 2011-16 and 2017-22, and he was chairman of the board in 2015 and 2021.

“Mr. Lamoureux possesses a keen understanding of state government and is a long-time advocate for advancing the mission of Arkansas Tech University,” said Dr. Robin E. Bowen, ATU president. “We look forward to welcoming him to the ATU Board of Trustees and working with him in support of student access and success.”

A graduate of Dover High School, Lamoureux earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in history and political science at Arkansas Tech in 1997. He went on to receive a Juris Doctor from the William H. Bowen School of Law at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock in 1999.

Lamoureux served in the Arkansas House of Representatives from 2002-08 and in the Arkansas Senate from 2009-14.

His leadership positions in the Arkansas General Assembly included house minority leader, senate minority whip and president pro tempore of the Arkansas Senate. He became the first bachelor’s degree graduate of ATU to hold the latter of those positions.

Lamoureux served as chief of staff in the Arkansas Office of the Governor from January 2015-May 2016. He subsequently entered the private sector to work as an attorney and consultant.

Returning members of the ATU Board of Trustees for 2022 are Stephanie Duffield of Russellville (chairman), Jim Smith of Fayetteville (vice chairman), Len Cotton of Dardanelle (secretary) and Bill Clary of Conway.

According to Arkansas Code 6-65-301, the five-person ATU Board of Trustees is “charged with the management and control” of the institution. Members of the ATU Board of Trustees serve without pay.