Lamoureux Resigns from ATU Board of Trustees

Michael Lamoureux
Michael Lamoureux

Michael Lamoureux has submitted his resignation as a member of the Arkansas Tech University Board of Trustees effective March 31, 2024.

“My law firm has accepted representation of a client that will preclude my service on a state board,” wrote Lamoureux in his letter of resignation. “It has been an honor and a privilege to serve on this board. I am proud of the work we have done and have no doubt that this board will continue its great work. My passion for Arkansas Tech University is unwavering and I look forward to helping in other ways.”

Lamoureux had served on the ATU Board of Trustees since 2022.

A graduate of Dover High School, Lamoureux earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in history and political science at Arkansas Tech in 1997. He went on to receive a Juris Doctor from the William H. Bowen School of Law at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock in 1999.

Lamoureux served in the Arkansas House of Representatives from 2002-08 and in the Arkansas Senate from 2009-14.

His leadership positions in the Arkansas General Assembly included house minority leader, senate minority whip and president pro tempore of the Arkansas Senate. He became the first bachelor’s degree graduate of ATU to hold the latter of those positions.

Lamoureux served as chief of staff in the Arkansas Office of the Governor from January 2015-May 2016. He subsequently entered the private sector to work as an attorney and consultant.

“Arkansas Tech University is grateful to Michael Lamoureux for his service on the ATU Board of Trustees and his long-standing support of his alma mater,” said Dr. Russell Jones, ATU interim president. “He was an active and engaged board member and I know that he will continue to be an active and engaged alumnus. His advocacy for our students has made an authentic and positive difference in their educational experience.”

The ATU Board of Trustees will function with four members — Chairman Len Cotton of Dardanelle, Vice Chairman Bill Clary of Conway, Stephanie Duffield of Russellville and Jim Smith of Fayetteville — until a fifth member is appointed by Gov. Sarah Huckabee Sanders.