HLC Reaffirms Accreditation for Arkansas Tech

Arkansas Tech University Logo

Arkansas Tech University has received notification from the Higher Learning Commission that its accreditation is reaffirmed for an additional 10-year period.

The reaffirmation continues an institutional accreditation as a four-year, degree-granting institution of higher learning that Arkansas Tech first attained in 1951 and has maintained ever since.

“This is a wonderful achievement by Arkansas Tech University,” said Dr. Robin E. Bowen, ATU president. “We benefited from great participation and leadership from the ATU Board of Trustees during our reaffirmation of accreditation process, and our faculty and staff have worked diligently to thoroughly review every aspect of our university. This continuation of accreditation is evidence of the good and important work that takes place at Arkansas Tech on a daily basis. We are focused on student access and student success, and this outcome is affirmation that our university has continued to make significant strides in those areas over the past decade. I extend my sincere appreciation and congratulations to all who contributed to this positive outcome.”

The next comprehensive HLC review of Arkansas Tech is scheduled for the 2030-31 academic year. ATU will provide HLC with an interim progress report about the continued implementation of its assessment plan by no later than Sept. 30, 2022.

Arkansas Tech University is a public, comprehensive, regional university that was established by Act 100 of the 37th Arkansas General Assembly in 1909. ATU offers credentials and degrees at the technical certification, associate, baccalaureate, graduate and doctoral levels. The university operates campuses in Russellville and Ozark as well as Arkansas Tech Career Center (ATCC).

Home to almost 11,000 students, ATU is one of the three largest universities in the State of Arkansas. Stackable credentials and multiple entry points to higher education are among the university’s distinguishing characteristics.

Arkansas Tech offers more than 100 programs of study on its Russellville campus, including many of the most sought-after four-year baccalaureate programs among college freshmen — programs such as business, engineering, physical and biological sciences, the social sciences and teacher education.

Pre-professional programs prepare ATU students to become doctors, dentists, lawyers, pharmacists, physical therapists and veterinarians. ATU’s graduate offerings include a Doctor of Education degree in school leadership.

ATU-Ozark Campus, which merged with Arkansas Tech in 2003, focuses on career and technical education as a pathway to career readiness and further study. Categories of study at ATU-Ozark include business, logistics and community outreach, health sciences, trades and technology and general studies. Partnerships with more than 300 industry partners in the region ensure the relevance of ATU-Ozark programs and provide graduates with insight on career opportunities.

Arkansas Tech Career Center serves almost 1,000 high school students from 18 school districts at regional locations in Russellville, Clarksville, Danville, Ozark and Paris. ATCC provides concurrent credit through programs in automation systems technologies, automotive service technology, computer engineering/computer information systems, construction technology, criminal justice/law enforcement, culinary arts, cosmetology, health science technology and metal fabrication.

Visit www.atu.edu to learn more about Arkansas Tech University.