ATU Student Mayoral Advisory Board Begins 4th Year

ATU Campus Russellville Looking West
File aerial photo of the Arkansas Tech University campus in Russellville.

Representatives from Arkansas Tech University and the City of Russellville participated in the first ATU Student Mayoral Advisory Board meeting of the 2020-21 academic year on Tuesday, Sept. 15.

Six ATU students met with Russellville Mayor Richard Harris to provide insight on the student experience to the City of Russellville and to gain a greater understanding of what the community offers for students.

The board was created in 2017 in accordance with goal 4.5 of the ATU Strategic Plan, which calls for the university to “increase partnerships with city, regional and state governments through marketing our established strengths and utilizing government liaisons, administration, faculty, staff, students and alumni.”

The 2020-21 ATU Student Mayoral Advisory Board members are:

  • Addie Beckham of Hartford, student representative from Fraternity and Sorority Life
  • Shayla Miller of Nashville, student representative from Residence Hall Association
  • Seth Robbins of Berryville, student representative from Diversity and Inclusion
  • Olivia Rowe of Paragould, student representative from Student Government Association
  • Nahid Tushar of Dhaka, Bangladesh, student representative from International Student Services
  • Arianna Woodard of Alma, student representative from Student Activities Board

Additional attendees at the group’s inaugural 2020-21 meeting included Dr. Keegan Nichols, ATU vice president for student affairs; Dr. Brett Bruner, ATU dean of student engagement; and Debi Headley, administrative assistant to the mayor.

Subsequent ATU Student Mayoral Advisory Board meetings are scheduled for November 2020, February 2021 and April 2021.