ATU-Ozark Student Earns Jon H. Poteat Scholarship

Leah Herman
Leah Herman

Leah Herman of Booneville earned a $1,000 scholarship from the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) in recognition of her pursuit of a practical nursing degree at Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus.

NTHS, an organization that fosters student achievement in career and technical education, selected Herman as one of 250 recipients of the Jon H. Poteat Scholarship. The honor reflects Herman’s adherence to the NTHS core values of skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership.

Since 1984, NTHS has been the honor society for career and technical education, serving high schools, career centers, community and technical colleges and universities. Recognizing more than 50,000 new members annually, NTHS exists to advocate for and empower all students to pursue the technical and academic skills needed to build their careers and a skilled global workforce.

In collaboration with student leadership organizations and industry partners, NTHS has allocated more than $3 million in scholarships to career and technical education students. Partners include Business Professionals of America, DECA and Future Business Leaders of America.

Visit for more information about NTHS.

Visit to learn more about ATU-Ozark Campus.