ATU-Ozark Names Faculty Excellence Award Winners

ATU-Ozark 2021 Faculty Awards
Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus Chancellor Bruce Sikes presented end-of-year faculty awards to (from left-to-right) Katy Dodd, Heather Nelson and Blaine Snyder during spring 2021 commencement.

Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus faculty members Katy Dodd, Heather Nelson and Blaine Snyder have received special recognition for their performance during the 2020-21 academic year.

Dodd and Snyder tied for the 2020-21 ATU-Ozark Faculty Teaching Excellence Award, while Nelson is the 2020-21 winner of the ATU-Ozark Faculty Service Excellence Award.

Bruce Sikes, chancellor of Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus, presented the awards during a spring 2021 commencement ceremony at Thone Stadium at Buerkle Field in Russellville on Thursday, May 6.

“Mrs. Dodd, Mrs. Nelson and Ms. Snyder are exemplary teacher leaders in the classroom and in the community,” said Dr. Sheila Jacobs, ATU-Ozark chief academic officer. “Each of them exhibits service excellence in their commitment to students, to their colleagues and to their professions. They are very deserving of this recognition, and we proudly honor them.”

Dodd joined the ATU-Ozark faculty in 2017 and is an instructor for the Department of English and World Languages. She holds a Master of Arts degree in English from Arkansas Tech.

Snyder has been employed as a nursing educator at ATU-Ozark since 2015. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree from Arkansas Tech.

Nelson is the program chair and instructor of logistics management. She played a role in the development, promotion and implementation of the program and has been employed at ATU-Ozark since 2015.

Learn more about the educational opportunities at ATU-Ozark Campus by visiting