ATU Launches Awards Program for High School Media

ATU Student Television Station Studio
File photo from inside the student television studio at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville.

A new initiative at Arkansas Tech University will recognize the best in high school media from around Arkansas.

The competition program, which is sponsored by the ATU Department of Communication and Media Studies, will have categories for short film, newspaper article, photograph, short play, short speech, television news package and yearbook spread.

“While students are welcome to create new work, the competitions were developed with the idea in mind that students may already have work ready that they created for class or extracurricular activities,” said Dr. David Eshelman, head of the ATU Department of Communication and Media Studies. “The competitions are designed as a good way for students to build their résumés.”

The submission site and additional information is available at

Prizes of $75 for first place and $50 for second place will be awarded in each category. Deadline to enter is Tuesday, Feb. 28, at 11:59 p.m.

The ATU Department of Communication and Media Studies offers programs in journalism, communication studies and theatre and film production. A new major in social media influencing is planned to debut in fall 2023. Also in 2023, the department will begin offering certificates in broadcast journalism, print journalism, public relations and technical communication.

The department houses the student newspaper, student television station, student radio station, theatre and film productions, debate team, Arkansas Radio Theatre and student groups in journalism and public relations.

For more information, visit or call (479) 964-0890.