ATU Fisheries Program Reps Earn National Awards

ATU Fisheries Award Winners August 2023
Photographed: Seth Drake (left) and Dr. Kyler Hecke (right).

An Arkansas Tech University student and an ATU faculty member received awards during the 153rd annual meeting of the American Fisheries Society Aug. 20-24 in Grand Rapids, Mich.

ATU graduate student Seth Drake of Hendersonville, N.C. was presented with honorable mention for the John E. Skinner Award, which recognizes students based on academic qualifications, professional service and rationale for attending the meeting. As an award recipient, Drake earned a free one-year membership to the American Fisheries Society and complimentary registration for the annual meeting.

Dr. Kyler Hecke, assistant professor of fisheries science in the ATU Department of Biological Sciences, was among four individuals to earn the American Fisheries Society Emerging Leaders Mentorship Award. Hecke will have the opportunity to participate in American Fisheries Society Governing Board activities over the next year as part of the organization’s commitment to develop its future leaders. Hecke also received $500 to aid in meeting costs.

According to information provided by the ATU fisheries and wildlife science program on its web page, the program strives to “prepare a diverse group of students to pursue careers as field or research biologists and provide the sound ecological foundation so they are able to make wise decisions and take prudent actions regarding the management, productivity and sustainability of our fish and wildlife resources.”

ATU offers a Bachelor of Science degree and a Master of Science degree in fisheries and wildlife science.

Learn more at