ATU Among Elite Company in Voter Participation Effort

Doc Bryan Student Services Center
Doc Bryan Student Services Center

Arkansas Tech University has earned national recognition as a leader in the effort to encourage civic engagement among higher education students.

The National Resource Consortium on Full Student Voter Participation and the Students Learn, Students Vote Coalition selected ATU as a codesigner campus in the Ask Every Student program.

ATU is the only institution in Arkansas that was selected as a codesigner campus and one of just 31 universities in the nation chosen for the honor. Other institutions named Ask Every Student codesigner campuses include Harvard University, the University of Michigan, the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Texas-Austin.

“Providing opportunities for civic engagement is one aspect of the mission statement at Arkansas Tech University,” said Dr. Keegan Nichols, ATU vice president for student affairs. “By serving at the forefront of programs such as Ask Every Student we help our students develop lifelong habits of voting and actively participating in the communities in which they will live and lead following graduation.”

According to its website, the non-partisan Ask Every Student program is based on the notion that “full student voter participation comes down to accessing at least three minutes of individualized focus from each student to talk about voter engagement and, if eligible, register them to vote.”

Visit to learn more about civic engagement initiatives through the ATU Department of Campus Life.