45th Arkansas Governor’s School Begins July 7 at ATU

Arkansas Governor's School 2023 Closing Ceremony
File photo from the closing ceremony for Arkansas Governor's School 2023 at Tucker Coliseum in Russellville.

One of the Natural State’s most prestigious academic programs for high school students will return to Arkansas Tech University when the 45th Arkansas Governor’s School convenes in Russellville.

The program will begin on Sunday, July 7, and continue through Saturday, Aug. 3. This marks the sixth consecutive year that AGS has been conducted at Arkansas Tech.

The four-week learning experience for rising high school seniors who are residents of Arkansas will serve approximately 380 students in 2024. Their daily class schedule at AGS is based, in part, upon their demonstrated aptitude in one of nine areas of specialization: choral music, development engineering, instrumental music, drama, English/language arts, mathematics, natural science, social science or visual arts.

Those nine disciplines constitute what is defined as AGS Area I. AGS Area II is a study of the nature of knowledge, while AGS Area III is focused on the personal and social development of students.

The three aspects of the AGS curriculum will be imparted to the students by a faculty that includes individuals who teach at 17 different universities and K-12 school districts.

The members of the 2024 Arkansas Governor’s School faculty are:

Peter Dykema, Arkansas Tech University
Jacob Grosskopf, Arkansas Tech University

Choral Music
Kane Bradley, University of Memphis

Development Engineering
Matt Young, Arkansas Tech University

David Eshelman, Arkansas Tech University

English/Language Arts
Tori Sharpe, Arkansas Tech University
Claire Kortyna, Arkansas Tech University

Instrumental Music
Rick Dimond, Henderson State University
Erin Cameron, Arkansas State University

John Anglin, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Stacy Key, University of the Ozarks

Natural Sciences
Chance Duncan, Russellville School District
Burt Hollandsworth, Arkansas School for Math, Science and Arts
Mark Meredith, Russellville School District
Jacob Siebach, Arkansas Tech University

Social Sciences
Nate Chapman, Arkansas Tech University
Patrick Hagge, Arkansas Tech University
Julie Mikles-Schluterman, Arkansas Tech University
Justin Moss, Arkansas Tech University

Visual Arts
Jasmine Greer, Arkansas Tech University
Ashley Kinsey, Arkansas Tech University

Area II
Mark Elrod, University of Central Arkansas
Elizabeth Chaffin, Bentonville School District
John Gripka, North Arkansas College
Latasha Holt, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Andrea Lively, University of Central Arkansas
Kathy Manus, Haas Hall Academy Rogers
Phillip Spivey, University of Central Arkansas
Arwen Taylor, Arkansas Tech University
Kelsey Utne, Arkansas Tech University

Area III
Rob Stevens, Arkansas Tech University
Richard Gobble, Bentonville School District
Tina King, Action Behavior Center, Arlington, Texas
Olivia Lewis, Sheridan School District
Xela McArthur, Russellville School District
Monica McCullough, Riverview School District
Bill Morelan, Arkansas Tech University
Chad Terrell, Conway School District
Brendan Toner, Arkansas Tech University

Founded in 1979 by Gov. Bill Clinton, Arkansas Governor’s School serves selected students from around the state during the summer before their senior year in high school. The Arkansas Department of Education Gifted and Talented Programs administrator supervises Arkansas Governor’s School with assistance from an advisory council appointed by the governor.

Learn more about Arkansas Governor’s School at www.atu.edu/ags.