42nd Arkansas Governor’s School Begins July 5 at ATU

AGS File Photo 2019
File photo from the 40th Arkansas Governor's School, which was conducted at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville in summer 2019.

One of the Natural State’s most prestigious academic programs for high school students will return to Arkansas Tech University when the 42nd Arkansas Governor’s School convenes in Russellville.

The program will begin on Monday, July 5, and continue through Sunday, Aug. 1. This marks the third consecutive year that AGS has been conducted at Arkansas Tech, which will continue as host of the program through 2024.

Approximately 370 students will attend the four-week learning experience in 2021. Their daily class schedule will be based, in part, upon their demonstrated aptitude in one of nine areas of specialization: visual arts, choral music, instrumental music, drama, English/language arts, mathematics, natural science, social science or cybersecurity.

Those nine disciplines constitute what is defined as AGS Area I. Area II is a study of the nature of knowledge, while Area III is focused on the personal and social development of students.

The three aspects of the AGS curriculum will be imparted to the students by a faculty that includes individuals who teach at Arkansas Tech University, the University of Arkansas, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, Arkansas State University, the University of Central Arkansas, the University of Central Oklahoma, Henderson State University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and the school districts in Conway, Eureka Springs, Hot Springs Lakeside, North Little Rock, Russellville and Harrisburg, Tenn.

The members of the 2021 Arkansas Governor’s School faculty are:

  • John Anglin (mathematics)
  • Samm Binns (area III)
  • Dr. David Blanks (area II)
  • Dr. Erin Cameron (instrumental music)
  • Dr. Nate Chapman (social science)
  • Dr. Erin Clair (area III)
  • Rebekah DiGiacomo (natural science)
  • Dr. Rick Dimond (instrumental music)
  • Chance Duncan (natural science)
  • Dr. Peter Dykema (area II)
  • Dr. David Eshelman (drama)
  • Dr. Jacob Grosskopf (natural science)
  • Dr. Patrick Hagge (social science)
  • Dr. Christopher Harris (choral music)
  • Dr. Latasha Holt (area II)
  • Carolyn House (area III)
  • Danielle Morgan Young Hurst (visual arts)
  • Grant Hurst (cybersecurity)
  • Dr. Sean Huss (area III coordinator)
  • Dr. John Kirk (area II)
  • Dr. Anthony Lee (area III)
  • Hwaju Lee (musical accompanist)
  • Andrea Lively (area II)
  • Kathy Manus (English/language)
  • Alicia Mariano (area III)
  • Dr. Aaron McArthur (social science)
  • Xela McArthur (area III)
  • Jean-Hugues Bita’a Menye (area II)
  • Mark Meredith (natural science)
  • Dr. Bill Morelan (area III)
  • Dr. Justin Moss (social science)
  • Drew Nolley (area II)
  • Nicole Penn (area III)
  • Dr. Tori Sharpe (English/language)
  • Philip Spivey (area II)
  • Rebecca Streett (mathematics)
  • Dr. Arwen Taylor (area II)
  • Dr. Jordan Thibodeaux (area II coordinator)
  • Dr. Brendan Toner (area III)

Dr. Robin Lasey and Dr. Jeff Woods are co-directors of AGS at Arkansas Tech. Woods is also area I coordinator.

Founded in 1979 by Gov. Bill Clinton, Arkansas Governor’s School serves selected students from around the state during the summer before their senior year in high school. The Arkansas Department of Education Gifted and Talented Programs administrator supervises Arkansas Governor’s School with assistance from an advisory council appointed by the governor.

Learn more about Arkansas Governor’s School at www.atu.edu/ags.