Rock Your Room Contest Announced

Arkansas Tech University students are invited to showcase their residence hall rooms as part of the Rock Your Room contest this spring.

The contest runs through Friday, March 31.

During the contest, students may submit up to five photos and videos showcasing what makes their room unique.

One winner from each residence hall will be selected as a finalist. The finalists will receive a $25 cash prize.

From the finalists, one winner will be selected to receive an additional $250 cash prize.

For more information about the contest, contact Carrie Phillips at

Learn more about the Office of Residence Life at Arkansas Tech.

Enter the contest.


Light the Night Scheduled for March 8

The Arkansas Tech University International and Multicultural Student Services Office will host Light the Night 2017 on Wednesday, March 8, from 6:30-9:30 p.m. at Hindsman Tower.

The annual event provides members of the campus community and beyond with an opportunity to enjoy free food and entertainment celebrating the wide variety of cultures represented at Arkansas Tech.

Those attending Light the Night 2017 are encouraged to bring one or more non-perishable food items for donation to River Valley Food 4 Kids.

For more information, call (479) 964-0832 or send e-mail to

Time Out for Tech 2017 Draws Large Crowd

Emma Long of Conway is considering nursing as her major and sorority membership as her campus involvement, but it was something far more fundamental that drew her to Arkansas Tech University.

“Everyone here is so nice,” said Long. “Everyone is always smiling, so I like that.”

Long was one of more than 3,000 smiling faces on hand for Time Out for Tech 2017, a high school senior preview day that took place on Thursday, Jan. 26, on the ATU campus in Russellville.

There were 1,512 high school seniors on hand for the opening session at Tucker Coliseum. Including parents and families, 3,226 individuals attended Time Out for Tech 2017.

“Today marks an important step in what will be one of the most challenging, rewarding and life-changing experiences of your life,” Dr. Robin E. Bowen, ATU president, told the opening assembly. “The pursuit of a university education is an investment in your future and the future of your family. I commend and thank each of you for investing the time today to learn more about Arkansas Tech University.

“As one of the three largest institutions of higher learning in our state, ATU offers more than 120 programs of study, ranging from technical certificates to a doctoral degree,” continued Bowen. “Included in these are several new and innovative programs, including game and interactive media design, environmental science, computer science education, cultural and geospatial studies and electrical engineering biomedical option.”

Time Out for Tech provides high school seniors and their families with a chance to learn more about the academic programs, student housing options and campus life opportunities available on the Russellville campus.

The opening session was followed by academic break-out sessions, campus tours, lunch at the various dining options on campus and a photo opportunity with Jerry the Bulldog, campus ambassador.

Julio Arroyo of Russellville came to Time Out for Tech to learn more about the middle level education program. He is considering ATU for his education because of the opportunities it will provide him to connect with his community.

“I’m looking for good people, great teachers to help me out and supporting community,” said Arroyo. “I feel like if you are more connected to those around you, it can help you achieve a higher status.”

The variety of ways to get involved impressed Robert Allen of Berryville, who plans on studying mechanical engineering at Arkansas Tech.

“You can tell just by walking in here that there are a lot of students who are dedicated to a lot of organizations and the school,” said Allen. “Attending college will change my life because it will let me choose what I want to do, and hopefully coming to Tech will help me achieve that.”

Kirsten Speilman of Havana made her first visit to Arkansas Tech on Thursday, and she found an environment that she believes will inspire her artistic side.

“The buildings are really nice and it looks like a really nice, clean campus,” said Speilman. “I’m a creative person, so I hope to find a job that will help me pursue that. I feel like Tech will help me with socializing more. I have a shell, so I’m hoping it will make me more social and outgoing.”

As a Russellville High School student, Bryland Young’s proximity to ATU has provided him with opportunities to already know and be friends with several Tech students. As he prepares to pursue a degree in physics education, he sees Arkansas Tech as a ticket to a bright future.

“A degree means more money,” said Young, “and more money means more freedom and less stress, so that’s what I’m hoping to obtain.”

For information about applying to become an undergraduate student at Arkansas Tech University, call (800) 582-6953 or (479) 968-0343. Learn more at

Time Out for Tech 2017 | 1/26/17

Tech Packs 40,000 Meals for Those in Need

Arkansas Tech University reached its goal of providing 40,000 meals for people who are food insecure in the Arkansas River Valley during a community service event on Monday, Jan. 16.

The event was part of the Martin Luther King Jr. Day commemoration on the Arkansas Tech campus in Russellville. More than 425 volunteers from the Tech community met at W.O. Young Building Ballroom to assemble the meals in an effort coordinated with The Pack Shack, a non-profit organization headquartered in Rogers and co-founded by Arkansas Tech alumnus Jarod Ring.

The meals have been shared with local service organizations for distribution to individuals and families who lack reliable access to a sufficient quantity of affordable, nutritious food.

This marked the second consecutive year in which Arkansas Tech and The Pack Shack have partnered for a community service event. In two years, the Tech community has provided more than 77,000 meals to its neighbors in need through The Pack Shack.

MLK Jr. Day of Rembrance & Service | 1/16/17

View Graduation Photos and Videos

Arkansas Tech University awarded nearly 700 degrees during Commencement ceremonies at Tucker Coliseum over the weekend.

Students earning degrees were recognized during one of three ceremonies.

Prior to each ceremony, students were also able to pay tribute to those who helped them succeed.

2016 Fall Graduation: Master's Ceremony | 12/16/16

2016 Fall Graduation: 10am Ceremony | 12/17/16

2016 Fall Graduation: 2pm Ceremony | 12/17/16