ATU Announces New Senior-Level Leadership

The year 2020 has seen the addition of several new senior-level leaders at Arkansas Tech University.

Jason Geiken took office as vice president for advancement on March 9. He served as associate vice president for development and alumni affairs at California State University Stanislaus from December 2017 until his appointment at ATU.

“Mr. Geiken made a positive first impression on our university community during the interview process,” said Dr. Robin E. Bowen, ATU president. “His career progression has prepared him for the responsibility of leading the ATU Division of Advancement. We look forward to supporting him and working with him to develop enhanced relationships with individuals and organizations that share our passion for student access and student success.”

Geiken graduated from Baptist College of Florida with a Bachelor of Arts degree in music and Iowa State University with a Master of Business Administration degree with a specialization in marketing.

Three new deans, Dr. Jeffrey Cass (College of Arts and Humanities), Dr. K. Russell Jones (College of Business) and Dr. Richard Schoephoerster (Graduate College and research initiatives) accepted academic leadership positions at ATU in recent months.

Cass came to Arkansas Tech from the University of Houston-Victoria (Texas), where he was professor of English and served as vice president for academic affairs for four years. He holds degrees from the University of Dallas and the University of California at San Diego.

Jones came to ATU from Arkansas State University, where he was the Kathy White Professor of Management Information Systems and served on the faculty from 1989-2020. He holds degrees from Arkansas State and the University of Texas at Arlington.

Schoephoerster holds three degrees from the University of Iowa. He has previously held leadership positions at Florida International University, the University of Texas at El Paso and the American University of Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates as part of a career in higher education that spans 30 years.

-Tech Action, Fall 2020