Tech Names New Walton Leader Scholars

Arkansas Tech University has selected 20 Walton Leader Scholars for the second cohort of its LEAD 21 program.

LEAD 21 is an initiative by the Arkansas Tech Center for Leadership and Learning that makes the Arkansas Tech Master of Education degree in educational leadership available to selected teachers in Pulaski County, the Delta region and districts throughout Arkansas that have priority schools or schools in need of improvement.

Courses are delivered through a blended format of online course offerings and seminars.

LEAD 21 is made possible through a $974,157 grant from the Walton Family Foundation. The program began in summer 2013 with an inaugural cohort of 20 graduate students.

The second class of Walton Leader Scholars (listed with the educational entity at which they serve) includes:

*Alyssa Bodine, Lakeside High School (Lake Village)
*Alison Cannon, Teach for America
*Johayne Carty-Cabey, KIPP Blytheville College Prep School
*Stephanie Chrissotimos, Crossett High School
*Russell Crowell, Manila School District
*Amanda Howard, El Dorado School District
*Reilee Jones, Stuttgart School District
*Michael Loughran, Earle High School
*Brandon Lucius, Helena-West Helena School District
*Rachel Marx, Little Rock Central High School
*Jigish Patel, Strong-Huttig School District
*Bradley Reeves, Van Buren School District
*David Rhoades, eStem Middle Public Charter School
*Emilianne Slamons, Dermott School District
*Cheryl Smith, Stuttgart School District
*Valerie Stavey, North Little Rock High School
*Audra Stewart, Clinton School District
*Matthew Swenson, Cross County High School
*Edward Tucker, Hamburg High School
*Melissa Walsh, Teach for America

The second cohort of Walton Leader Scholars began its studies with a two-day retreat at Arkansas Tech May 30-31.

Dr. Mary Gunter, dean of the Arkansas Tech Graduate College and professor of educational leadership, serves as executive director for the LEAD 21 program.

Dr. Matt McClure, chief learning and financial officer for the Cross County School District, is the LEAD 21 coordinator and facilitator.

Visit to learn more about the Walton Family Foundation.

Visit to learn more about the Arkansas Tech Center for Leadership and Learning.

Speak Your Mind