Archives for August 2018

Opportunities for Graduate Study at UAMS

Arkansas Tech University students interested in pursuing graduate study at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences will have an opportunity to meet with UAMS representatives on Wednesday, Sept. 5.

Programs of study and admission requirements will be among the topics of discussion when personnel from UAMS meet with ATU students from 10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. in McEver Hall.

For more information, contact Dr. Jason A. Patton, head of the ATU Department of Physical Sciences, at (479) 968-0676 or

Staff Service Milestones Recognized

Arkansas Tech University expressed its appreciation to staff members who are reaching milestones in their service to the institution this year during a pair of recognition ceremonies on Thursday, Aug. 30.

The ceremonies, which took place in the Doc Bryan Student Services Center Lecture Hall, were organized by the ATU Office of Human Resources.

The following ATU staff members are celebrating a career service milestone in 2018:

40 Years
Richard A. Hibbs
Perry Glen Rackley

35 Years
Theresa Ann Motley

30 Years
Carol J. Adkison
David Columbus Bell

25 Years
John Michael Bogue
Patricia Lynn Fernandez
Beverly O. Hooten

20 Years
Rebecca K. Baker
Patricia S. Buford
Timothy L. Carter
Larry D. Freeman
Mary B. Gunter
Cynthia Riley Hubbard
William Chris Moss
Susan S. Nicholson
Rhonda Jean Rodgers
Lesli Nicole Schwartz

15 Years
Sandra Dawn Anderson
Deborah K. Edgin
Katherine R. Ehemann
Julie A. Ennis
Cindy Patricia Ford
Linda M. Hall
John Richard Jackson
Faith Ann Johnson
Sandra Lea Mitchell
Beverly D. Nehus
Joseph Donald Powell
Laura Lynn Rudolph
Jayne E. Sewell
Kori S. Toth-Gray

10 Years
Samuel D. Cook
Will R. Cooper
Greg Michael Crouch
Derrick Leon Ennis
Amanda M. Handley
Cathy LaDawn Hern
Glenna Charmay Howell
Amy Christine Kinard
Marvin Lee Mashburn
Yasushi Onodera
Jason Adam Patton
Carrie Elizabeth Harris Phillips
Mitzi R. Reano
Jason Dean Salmans
Shannon Ching Hui Shen
Kathy Lanell Shipley
Kevin Duane Sparks
Andrew Stadler
Alison Whitney Taylor
Sheryle Lynn Tinerella
Brett A. Waldon
Lewis Earl Yonce

5 Years
Colleen Elizabeth Bennett
Bryan Michael Bramlett
Randell G. Brown
Mike William Crouch
Melanie Grace Diffey
Timothy Lynn Diffey
Cynthia I. Dixon
Mistie Leigh Duncan
Brandi Lynne Duvall
Elishia Jean Fairfield
Lawrence Monroe Ford
Robert Matthew Fraser
Eli Joseph Fuentez
Charles Gregory Garcia
Connie Cheri Herring
Randall Lynn Howell
Courtney Rae Kline
Mary Katherine Koch
Karl Raymond Loveland
Teresa A. Lutz
Elizabeth Jeanne Mackie
Amanda Mary McClure
Ashley Diane McCool
James Robert McSweeney
Georgeio De’Marcus Milam
Tanda Nicole Patrick Morrison
Ashley Nicole Phillips
Jeffrey Dwayne Roberds
Whitney Tierra Robinson
Myra Lynn Rollans
Juanita L. Ruble
Kathy Marie Schluterman
Deanna Joyce Simmons
Timothy Small
Mary Ellen Standridge
Kenneth Ray Teutsch
David Paul Waterson
Craig Nixon Witcher

Staff Milestone Recognition | 8/30/18

SAU Tops Wonder Boys in Season Opener

A fast start propelled Southern Arkansas University to a season-opening 38-0 Great American Conference football victory over Arkansas Tech University at Wilkins Stadium in Magnolia on Thursday night.

The Muleriders (1-0) scored two touchdowns within a span of 10 seconds early in the first quarter and never looked back. Barrett Renner’s 44-yard touchdown pass to Karonce Higgins with 9:11 to play in the opening period was followed by a 27-yard interception return for a touchdown by DeMarcus Pegue at the 9:01 mark.

SAU pulled away by adding 24 points to its lead in the second quarter. Renner threw touchdown passes of 14 yards to SirCharles Perkins and four yards to Higgins, Jared Lancaster returned a punt 68 yards for a touchdown and Austin Wilkerson made a 29-yard field goal on the final play of the half.

The Muleriders took a 38-0 lead to the halftime locker room and maintained that edge the rest of the way. It was Arkansas Tech’s first shutout loss since Nov. 1, 2014, and its first shutout loss on the road since Oct. 5, 2013.

Renner finished 25-of-36 for 299 yards and three touchdowns.

SAU’s win marked the 11th consecutive meeting in which the home team has won the game between the Muleriders and the Wonder Boys.

The Wonder Boys (0-1) will make their 2018 home debut when they host Henderson State University for a GAC contest at Thone Stadium at Buerkle Field in Russellville on Saturday, Sept. 8. A 6 p.m. kickoff is planned. Party at the Plaza, the pre-game tailgating celebration outside the stadium on Centennial Plaza, will begin at 4 p.m.

ATU Band Member for a Day September 8

All junior high and high school band students are invited to participate in the Arkansas Tech University Band Member for a Day 2018 event on Saturday, Sept. 8.

The day with the ATU marching band, known far and wide as Arkansas’ Band of Distinction, will begin with a 1-2:30 p.m. rehearsal at Thone Stadium at Buerkle Field. Visiting high school students should wear casual athletic attire that is appropriate for the weather.

After two hours of free time to explore the ATU campus and change into their school’s marching band uniform, the band member for a day participants will report to Nutt Residence Hall (1505 N. El Paso Ave. in Russellville) at 4:30 p.m. From there, band members will participate in the traditional pre-game warm-up, march to the stadium and pre-game performances.

Kickoff for the football game between Arkansas Tech and Henderson State University is scheduled for 6 p.m. Admission will be free for all ATU Band Member for a Day participants, who will sit in the stands with Arkansas’ Band of Distinction and perform on the field during halftime.

For more information, send e-mail to

Register forĀ ATU Band Member for a Day 2018.

Beginning of Fall Semester Staff Update

Arkansas Tech University President Dr. Robin E. Bowen will provide staff members with a beginning of school update during a pair of identical sessions on Thursday, Aug. 30.

The meetings will take place at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. in the Doc Bryan Student Services Center Lecture Hall. All staff members are encouraged to attend one of the sessions and stagger attendance within their offices to ensure continuity of operations.

Staff members reaching milestones (5 years, 10 years, etc.) in their service to the university will be recognized at the end of both sessions.