Archives for April 2017

Faculty Earning Promotions, Tenure Honored

Arkansas Tech University hosted a reception at Lake Point Conference Center on Thursday, April 27, to recognize members of the faculty who recently earned promotions and tenure.

Fourteen ATU faculty members were promoted and 10 Tech faculty members were granted tenure by the ATU Board of Trustees during its meeting on March 16.

The promotion and tenure actions taken by trustees will become effective at the beginning of the 2017-18 academic year.

The following individuals were promoted to professor:
*Dr. Ernest Enchelmayer, Department of English and World Languages
*Neal Harrington, Department of Art
*Dr. Sean Huss, Department of Behavioral Sciences
*Dr. Stephen Jones, Department of Management and Marketing
*Dr. Eric Lovely, Department of Biological Sciences

The following individual was promoted to professor and granted tenure:
*Dr. Rockie Pederson, Department of Health and Physical Education

The following individuals were promoted to associate professor:
*Dr. Lisa Harless, Department of Nursing
*Dr. Kathryn Pearson, Department of Mathematics

The following individuals were promoted to associate professor and granted tenure:
*Dr. Jeff Aulgur, Department of Professional Studies
*Dr. Joshua Fisher, Department of Art
*Dr. Mohamed Ibrahim, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
*Dr. Efosa Idemudia, Department of Management and Marketing
*Dr. Justin Killingsworth, Department of Agriculture
*Dr. Jeffrey Pearson, Department of History and Political Science

The following individuals were granted tenure:
*Dr. Pamela Dixon, Center for Leadership and Learning
*Dr. Sean Reed, Department of Music
*Dr. Jack Tucci, Department of Management and Marketing

The late Dr. Lyman Harris, who served on the Tech faculty from 1974-2014 and led the ATU rehabilitation science program to become the first such accredited program in Arkansas, received a posthumous honor as professor emeritus of rehabilitation science.

Concert Part of Reunion Events for Tech Band

The Arkansas Tech University Symphonic Wind Ensemble will conclude its 2016-17 performance schedule by offering a program entitled “Reflections” at Witherspoon Auditorium on Sunday, April 30.

Sunday’s concert is scheduled to begin at 2:30 p.m. Admission will be free and open to the public.

Dr. Daniel A. Belongia, director of bands and associate professor of music, will conduct the ensemble as it performs pieces by David Maslanka, Samuel Barber and Karel Husa. Dr. Barbara Clements, soprano, will perform with the ensemble.

The concert will be the final event in a weekend filled with activities celebrating the legacy of the ATU instrumental music program.

Members of the 1967 Arkansas Tech Symphonic Band will gather for a reunion marking the 50th anniversary of their performance at the College Band Directors National Association Conference in Ann Arbor, Mich., under the late Gene Witherspoon.

In addition, the ATU Department of Music will celebrate the forthcoming induction of Hal Cooper, professor emeritus of music, into the ATU Hall of Distinction. Cooper served as director of bands at Arkansas Tech from 1979-2011. He will be inducted into the ATU Hall of Distinction during spring commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 13.

Cooper will be among three individuals who will conduct an alumni band as part of the 2:30 p.m. Sunday concert at Witherspoon Auditorium. Former ATU music faculty member Robert Bright and Dr. Albert Nguyen, an ATU alumnus who serves as director of bands at the University of Memphis, will also conduct the alumni band during its performance.

Learn more about the ATU band reunion.

ATU Names Top Senior Student-Athletes

Jalissa Gum received the Jeanice Falls Award and Trey Martin was presented with the John E. Tucker Award symbolizing their achievements as the top senior student-athletes at Arkansas Tech University during the Techspys award banquet on Wednesday night.

The award winners were selected by the Arkansas Tech Faculty Athletic Committee. Dr. Robin Lasey, associate professor of chemistry and NCAA faculty athletic representative at ATU, announced the winners at Tucker Coliseum.

Gum is a four-year member of the Arkansas Tech softball program. A product of Red Rock, Okla., she is the Golden Suns’ all-time leader in career strikeouts in her role as a right-handed pitcher. Gum was named All-America and Great American Conference pitcher of the year in 2016. This season, Gum is 16-10 with a 1.58 earned run average as a pitcher. She carries a .301 batting average with seven home runs and 34 runs batted in.

Martin earned two letters with the Arkansas Tech football program. In his role as a starting offensive lineman, he helped the Wonder Boys gain 9,874 yards of total offense during the 2015 and 2016 seasons combined. Over that span, Tech averaged 34.1 points per game. Martin, who calls Lake Hamilton home, was selected All-GAC honorable mention in 2015 and GAC All-Academic in 2016.

Among the other awards presented on Wednesday was a special recognition for Peggy Gregory, who will retire from her role as an administrative assistant in the ATU Department of Athletics at the end of the 2016-17 year.

2017 Techspys | 4/26/17

Classes Cancelled, Non-Essential Personnel Excused

Due to a power outage, classes on the Russellville campus of Arkansas Tech University are cancelled for the remainder of the day on Wednesday, April 26, 2017.

Offices are closing and non-essential personnel are dismissed for the remainder of the day.

Wonder Boys Reach 30 Wins

Five Arkansas Tech University hitters notched two base hits apiece in a 13-8 Wonder Boys’ victory over Ouachita Baptist University in non-conference baseball at Tech Field in Russellville on Tuesday night.

Marcus Wilson, Dylan McDearmon, Cody Wescott, Mark Vaughn and Michael Post had multiple hits in the win. Kyle Love recorded three runs batted in for ATU, while McDearmon and Shane Pollard both added two RBIs.

Branden Bohuslav (2-1) earned the win on the mound by pitching two innings of relief.

With the victory, the Wonder Boys (30-17) clinched their fourth 30-win season in the last five years.

Ouachita Baptist (14-32) committed seven errors in Tuesday’s game.

Weather permitting, Arkansas Tech is scheduled to host Harding University for a regular season-ending, three-game Great American Conference series at Tech Field on Friday, April 28, and Saturday, April 29.

First pitch is set for 1 p.m. Friday and 1 p.m. Saturday. Admission will be free.

Live coverage will be available at