Archives for March 2017

Collins’ Plant Sale Finale Set for April 14-15

It will be the end of an era when the Arkansas Tech University Department of Agriculture hosts its spring 2017 plant sale on Friday, April 14, and Saturday, April 15.

This spring will mark the 34th and final year that Dr. Jim Collins (photographed), professor of horticulture, will oversee the plant sale. He is retiring at the end of the spring 2017 semester.

The sale will be open from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. both days at the Tech Greenhouses on the north side of the ATU campus in Russellville. Signs will help direct shoppers to the greenhouses.

Call (479) 968-0251 for more information.

Achievement in Student Research Honored

Arkansas Tech University students have earned recognition for their entries into the 18th annual ATU Student Research Symposium earlier this month at the Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center.

Award winners are as follows:

First Place: Eduardo Mayen, “A robust model-free optimal controls algorithm for high atmospheric turbulence intensity applications.”

Second Place: Jordan Labrecque, “Bond length and bond valence relationship of chromium oxides, chromium sulfides, molybdenum oxides and molybdenum sulfides.”

Third Place: Justin Barrett and David Williams, “Phtotcatalytic sterilization of aqueous solutions.”

Honorable mention awards were presented to the following students:

Garrett Griffith, Alyssa Anderson and Kelsey Marcum, “Rubik’s cube robot.”

Aimee Bowman, Taylor Bishop and Chloe Fitzgerald, “Relative gene expression study on Centruroides vittatus investigating sodium toxin gene activity.”

Kevin Hemphill, “Role of the FGFR3-Tacc3 oncoprotein in the metabolism of organic pollutants in bladder cancer.”

Nick Tipton, “Phytoplankton dynamics in Grand Lake Oklahoma.”

Michael Bowman, “Wave profile for breakdown waves with a large current behind the wave front.”

Kassandra Cendejas, “Predicting conformations and orientations of guests within a water soluble host: a molecular docking approach.”

The 18th annual ATU Senior Honors Symposium was held concurrently with the student research event. Students presenting during the senior honors symposium included Logan Coomer, Kasey Eubanks, Kimberly Fletcher, Garrett Griffith, Joyce Kuykendall, Jason Morris and Hannah White.

Bisons Earn Comeback Win Over Tech

Harding University’s Hayden Walraven delivered a run-scoring single in the bottom of the eighth inning that gave the Bisons the lead for good in a 5-4 non-conference baseball win over Arkansas Tech University at Jerry Moore Field in Searcy on Wednesday.

Walraven’s run batted in was the culmination of a three-run, eighth-inning rally by Harding (11-18). He drove in Brooks Pitaniello to give the Bisons a 5-4 lead.

The Wonder Boys (18-13) put the tying run on base in the top of the ninth after Zach Klockowski came through with a one-out single, but Harding reliever Mason Faulkner induced a game-ending double play to secure his fourth save of 2017.

Nash Thomas (1-2) was credited as the winning pitcher after he worked two and two-thirds innings of relief for the Bisons.

ATU reliever Nate Rutherford (0-1) was charged with three runs on one hit in three and two-thirds innings.

Mark Vaughn went 3-for-4 with two doubles and two RBIs for the Wonder Boys. Tech’s Jake Harvey also drove in two runs. Klockowski, Marcus Wilson and Cody Wescott notched two hits apiece.

The Wonder Boys will venture to Ada, Okla., for a three-game Great American Conference series against East Central University on Friday, March 31, and Saturday, April 1. First pitch is scheduled for noon both days. Live coverage will be available at

Brass Choir Concert Postponed

The Arkansas Tech University Brass Choir concert scheduled for Wednesday, March 29, has been postponed due to the threat of severe weather in the region.

If the concert is rescheduled, the new date and time will be communicated on and other communication channels.

Golden Suns Roll Past UAPB 9-0

Arkansas Tech University completed the non-conference portion of its 2017 tennis schedule with a 9-0 victory over the University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff at the Chartwells Women’s Sports Complex in Russellville on Tuesday.

The Golden Suns (12-4) will begin their pursuit of a Great American Conference regular season championship by hosting Southeastern Oklahoma State University for a 2 p.m. match at the Chartwells Women’s Sports Complex on Friday, March 31. Admission will be free.

Arkansas Tech 9, UA-Pine Bluff 0
Tuesday, March 28 @ Russellville

Macarena Sedano Acosta/Maria Vlaskina (ATU) def. Taylor Shaw/Tia Thomas (UAPB) 8-1
Annabel Rowlands/Teresa Sanchez (ATU) def. Amira Ali/Amira Taylor (UAPB) 8-0
Haeleigh Long/Kami Ward (ATU) won by default

Macarena Sedano Acosta (ATU) def. Taylor Shaw (UAPB) 6-0, 6-2
Teresa Sanchez (ATU) def. Tia Thomas (UAPB) 6-0, 6-0
Kami Ward (ATU) def. Amira Taylor (UAPB) 6-0, 6-0
Annabel Rowlands (ATU) def. Amira Ali (UAPB) 6-0, won by retirement
Haeleigh Long (ATU) def. Courtney Brand (UAPB) 6-0, 6-0
Maria Vlaskina (ATU) won by default