Archives for May 2015

Students Earn $19K in Education Grants

A group of graduate students at Arkansas Tech University wrote grant proposals during the spring 2015 semester that resulted in $19,138 in funds for educational projects.

The grant proposals were prepared as part of an Arkansas Tech Center for Leadership and Learning Master of Education course taught by Dr. Ellen Treadway, assistant professor of teaching, learning and leadership at Arkansas Tech.

“Students learn the fundamentals of grant writing in a workshop setting, explore and share funding opportunities for educational professionals and submit a viable proposal for funding during the semester as their course artifact,” said Treadway.

Beneficiaries of the grant funding included students and teachers in the Dardanelle School District, the Deer/Mount Judea School District, the Fort Smith School District, the Magazine School District and the Pine Bluff School District.

The largest single award was a $7,705 competitive grant that will provide Google Chromebooks and a mobile computer cart for a fourth-grade classroom at Spradling Elementary School in Fort Smith.

Arkansas Tech graduate students involved in writing the winning grants included Mandy Daniels, Caitlin Martin, Stephanie Melder, Samantha Minster and Ashley Tidwell.

Summer Courses Begin Monday

Arkansas Tech University students will return to campus Monday to begin courses for the first summer term.

Courses offered during the first summer term will run through Thursday, July 2.

Students wanting to enroll in classes should contact their advisor to schedule an appointment to register, and students who have not completed 60 hours or are entering freshmen should contact the Academic Advising Center to register.

Any first-time Arkansas Tech students seeking information about enrolling in summer courses may contact the Arkansas Tech Office of Admissions at (479) 968-0343.

Access a complete list of important dates from the Office of the Registrar.

Familiar Faces: Tech Bookstore

A new face is greeting students at the Arkansas Tech University Bookstore this summer.

Rachel Bullock was named bookstore manager earlier this month.

As this week’s familiar face, Bullock discusses her passion for working in the bookstore and some improvements she hopes to bring to the Arkansas Tech Bookstore.

Visit the bookstore website.

Ambassadors Welcome Freshmen to Campus

Twenty Arkansas Tech University students are working this summer to welcome freshmen and their families to campus during summer registration.

Students selected as Student Ambassadors work to help ease the transition from high school to college and help students prepare for arriving on campus this fall.

While the new students are registering for classes, the ambassadors serve variety of functions including helping students get around campus, assisting students in obtaining their Tech ID, providing campus tours, assisting with campus technology and more.

This year marks the third year for the ambassador program.

Learn more about the Office of Student Success.

Learn about the Academic Advising Center.

ASBTDC Recognized for Excellence

Members of the Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center at Arkansas Tech University were recognized for their outstanding service to small businesses earlier this month in Little Rock at the statewide ASBTDC meeting.

Nathan George, Ronda Hawkins and Tracie White were honored with employee excellence awards for their 2014 work with the ASBTDC.

Additionally, the Arkansas Tech staff received several other honors.

George, was recognized for Capital Formation Excellence as part of the $5 Million Club for assisting clients in obtaining $6.4 million in capital last year.

He also received the Sales Star Award for assisting client businesses with increasing their sales.

Hawkins received the Top-Notch Trainer Award for the second consecutive year for her work coordinating and leading training at the Arkansas Tech ASBTDC.

White, the center’s administrative assistant, won the Star Supporter Award.

“Congratulations to the staff of the Arkansas Tech University ASBTDC on these well-deserved honors that reflect the excellent service the center provides to small businesses and entrepreneurs,” said Janet Roderick, ASBTDC state director.

Located in Rothwell Hall, the Arkansas Tech University center serves nine counties: Conway, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Pope, Scott, Sebastian and Yell. Contact the center at (479) 356-2067.

Learn more about the Arkansas Tech University ASBTDC.