Archives for April 2014

Tech Students Donate Bottled Water, Tarps

Bottled water and tarps destined for storm victims in central Arkansas lined the walls of the Doc Bryan Student Services Center Rotunda at Arkansas Tech University on Wednesday.

Truck by truck, members of the Greek community at Arkansas Tech loaded the items up and took them to a collection point in Morrilton. The water and tarps will be distributed to the communities in need from there.

The Office of Greek Life and the Department of Emergency Management at Arkansas Tech combined to host the drive, which was organized on Monday morning following storms that struck Mayflower, Vilonia and other communities west of Little Rock on Sunday night.

Among the Tech students helping load the donated items into trucks on Wednesday were (photographed from left) Thomas Meares of Fort Smith, Vincent Tran of Rogers and Melissa Nubbie of Clarksville. Meares and Tran are members of Alpha Tau Omega. Nubbie is a member of Phi Mu.

Many other Arkansas Tech students are giving of their time at the sites of the devastation.

Read about their efforts.

Seniors Donate More than $3,700 for Tech

The Arkansas Tech University Pacesetters Class of 2014 committee presented a check in the amount of $3,762.75 as the senior class gift to the Arkansas Tech Foundation on Tuesday.

The donation was the largest senior class gift in the nine-year history of the Pacesetters program.

Jayne Jones, vice president for development at Arkansas Tech (photographed, far right), accepted the check on behalf of the Arkansas Tech Foundation during a gathering at the Alumni House.

The program is designed to begin a lifetime tradition of giving back to Arkansas Tech by encouraging seniors to make their first gift to the Arkansas Tech Foundation before graduation.

The Arkansas Tech Pacesetters program was founded in 2006. Over the first nine years of the program, Arkansas Tech seniors have donated approximately $16,300 to the Arkansas Tech Foundation.

The Pacesetter committee members present for the check presentation on Tuesday were (from left) Clay Wyllia of Atkins, Barbara Braga of Olathe, Kan., Taylor Phoumivong of Fort Smith, Paige Leavell of Russellville, Caitlyn Brinegar of Camden and Linda Du of Baoding, China.

Members of the Arkansas Tech Class of 2014 who have not made a Pacesetter gift, but would like to do so, may learn more here.

Arkansas Tech Annnounces Resident Assistants

The Arkansas Tech University Office of Residence Life has announced the students selected to serve as Resident Assistants for the 2014-15 academic year.

Throughout the summer, the resident assistants will take part in training and prepare to welcome students in August.

The individuals were selected following an application process, interviews and workshops.

The following students will serve as resident assistants:

Baswell Hall

  • Zach Anderle
  • Shelby Holland
  • Madison Martin
  • Hailey Robinson
  • Blake Scheideman
  • Audra Schluterman
  • Traeven Willis

Brown Hall

  • Corbyn Arnold
  • Jon Paul Badley
  • Jeremy Carry
  • Christian McHalffey
  • Christian Reyes
  • Logan Williams

Caraway Hall

  • Brittnie Fischer
  • Erica Goss
  • Haley Paquet
  • Ashley Wakeman

Critz Hall

  • Jose Cardiel
  • Andrew Love
  • Patrick Snell

Hughes Hall

  • Reed Kelley
  • Lindsey Triplett
  • Kody Van Pelt
  • Kisia Weeks

Jones Hall

  • Blake Gilliam
  • Zita Aby Loredo
  • Katherine Nunez
  • Glen Poole
  • Kaitlin Prosper
  • Tahmid Shantanu

M Street Hall

  • Stephanie Carter
  • Jackson Dorman
  • Emily Estep
  • Byron Hancock
  • Amy Majors
  • Mallory Noel
  • T.J. Rich
  • Adam Richter
  • Colton Spears
  • Grayson Steele

Nutt Hall

  • Morgan Bradley
  • Porscha Brents
  • Elizabeth Clark
  • Jordan Cole
  • Luke Dooly
  • Tyler Pearson
  • Zach Schwartz
  • Alyson Seader
  • Tanner Westpheling

Paine Hall

  • Shaffer Bonewell
  • Phillip Boyd
  • Chris Gathright
  • Shannon Osborne
  • Talon Wagoner
  • Shay West

Roush Hall

  • Will Axsom
  • Topher Bryan
  • Joe England
  • Mike Harris

South Hall

  • Shane Crabtree

Stadium Suites

  • Patrick Sparks

Tucker Hall

  • Heather Bradley
  • Evie Donell
  • Megan Staudt

Turner Hall

  • Taylor Bishop
  • Conner Eason
  • Madison Finley
  • Colton Holder
  • Stephen McMurray
  • Lauren Rogers

University Commons

  • Allison Congleton
  • Saul Pennington
  • Amelia Whitkanack
  • Samuel Williams

Vista Place

  • Kaylee Clark
  • Bradly Lewellen
  • Jessica Oliver
  • Cristian Perez
  • Whitney Sneed

Wilson Hall

  • Seth Dronet
  • Jocelyn Flores
  • Logan Hayes
  • Levi Kock
  • Alex Phillips
  • Ali Selman


Alumna Wins Statewide Optometry Award

Arkansas Tech University graduate Dr. Sabre Ayers Wright is the 2014 Arkansas Optometric Association optometry doctor of the year.

Wright received the award during the 2014 Arkansas Optometric Association Convention April 24-27 at the Little Rock Marriott.

A member of the Arkansas Optometric Association Board of Directors for eight years, Wright practices in Harrison at Hubbard Eye Clinic. She serves on the Ozark Opportunities Health Advisory Board and as secretary-treasurer for the Boone County Special Services School Board.

Bolivar Bound: Tennis Suns Make NCAAs

For the first time in a dozen years and for just the second time in school history, the Arkansas Tech University women’s tennis program has earned a berth in the NCAA Division II Tournament.

The Golden Suns (15-5) are the No. 5 seed in the NCAA Division II Tournament Central Regional. They will face Great American Conference rival and fourth-seeded Harding University (18-5) in an opening-round match at Bolivar, Mo., on Monday, May 5.

The winner will advance to face No. 1 seed Southwest Baptist University (21-3) in the second round on Tuesday, May 6. That match will also be played at Bolivar, Mo.

Arkansas Tech’s only previous NCAA Division II Tournament appearance in women’s tennis came in 2002. Abby Davis was a senior for the Golden Suns that season. She is currently in her 10th season as head coach for the Arkansas Tech women’s tennis program.