ATU DPS Named to National Top 25 List

The Arkansas Tech University Department of Public Safety has garnered national recognition for its service to the ATU community.

The National Campus Safety Summit has selected the ATU Department of Public Safety as one of its 2017 top 25 campus safety departments in the United States.

“ATU Department of Public Safety is intentional in their pursuit to develop relationships with our students, faculty and staff,” said Dr. Keegan Nichols, vice president for student services at Arkansas Tech. “They understand that safety is about physical safety, but also about helping create a safe learning environment for all to visit and learn. I am so proud they are being recognized as one of the top 25 university departments making a difference in student safety.”

According to the National Campus Safety Summit, the departments included in the top 25 are “recognized for having increased the safety and security of their campus community in 2017.”

Joshua McMillian serves as chief of the ATU Department of Public Safety.

“There are numerous examples of how ATU Department of Public Safety goes above the role of providing a secure campus,” said Nichols. “They take it a step further to create an environment where it is not only safe to learn, but truly caring about making sure that every student counts. One example of this is how one of our officers saw an upset student sitting in his car. He approached the student to make sure he was okay. The student was having a rough day, so the officer took time to ride around with the student, which completely turned that student’s day around. The ATU public safety team understands how to make a difference in every student’s life.”

The departments included on the National Campus Safety Summit top 25 list will be honored during an award luncheon at the organization’s national conference Feb. 20-22, 2018.

Learn more about the ATU Department of Public Safety.

Speak Your Mind