Concert Part of Reunion Events for Tech Band

The Arkansas Tech University Symphonic Wind Ensemble will conclude its 2016-17 performance schedule by offering a program entitled “Reflections” at Witherspoon Auditorium on Sunday, April 30.

Sunday’s concert is scheduled to begin at 2:30 p.m. Admission will be free and open to the public.

Dr. Daniel A. Belongia, director of bands and associate professor of music, will conduct the ensemble as it performs pieces by David Maslanka, Samuel Barber and Karel Husa. Dr. Barbara Clements, soprano, will perform with the ensemble.

The concert will be the final event in a weekend filled with activities celebrating the legacy of the ATU instrumental music program.

Members of the 1967 Arkansas Tech Symphonic Band will gather for a reunion marking the 50th anniversary of their performance at the College Band Directors National Association Conference in Ann Arbor, Mich., under the late Gene Witherspoon.

In addition, the ATU Department of Music will celebrate the forthcoming induction of Hal Cooper, professor emeritus of music, into the ATU Hall of Distinction. Cooper served as director of bands at Arkansas Tech from 1979-2011. He will be inducted into the ATU Hall of Distinction during spring commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 13.

Cooper will be among three individuals who will conduct an alumni band as part of the 2:30 p.m. Sunday concert at Witherspoon Auditorium. Former ATU music faculty member Robert Bright and Dr. Albert Nguyen, an ATU alumnus who serves as director of bands at the University of Memphis, will also conduct the alumni band during its performance.

Learn more about the ATU band reunion.

Concert, Symphonic Bands Perform Thursday

Arkansas Tech University will present a concert featuring the ATU Concert Band and the ATU Symphonic Band on Thursday, April 27.

The performance will begin at 7:30 p.m. in Witherspoon Auditorium, 407 West Q Street in Russellville. Admission will be free and open to the public.

Dr. Daniel A. Belongia, director of bands and associate professor of music, is conductor for the ATU Symphonic Band. The ATU Concert Band is conducted by Ralph Brody Jr., visiting lecturer of music at ATU and director of bands at Clarksville High School.

Garreth Atwell of Cedarville, Alex Evans of Hot Springs and Brett Kelley of Russellville will serve as student conductors during Thursday’s performance.

The theme of the concert is “Masterworks.” Pieces scheduled for performance include “Sea Songs” by Ralph Vaughan Williams, “Three Ayres from Gloucester” by Hugh M. Stuart, “Toccata for Band” by Frank Erickson, “Four Scottish Dances” by Malcolm Arnold, “Molly on the Shore” and “Sussex Mummers’ Christmas Carol” by Percy Grainger and “Rocky Point Holiday” by Ron Nelson.

Learn more about the ATU Department of Music.

Game and 3D Lab Open House Thursday

The Arkansas Tech University Department of Art will host an open house for its new game and three-dimensional design laboratory space at 1111 N. Arkansas Ave. in Russellville on Thursday, April 27.

The open house will last from 4-6 p.m. and will include demonstrations of new equipment in the facility, which is located across the street from McDonald’s.

All members of the university community and the surrounding area are invited to attend.

Visit to learn more about the ATU Department of Art.

Jazz Ensemble Takes the Stage Friday Night

Dr. Sean Reed and the Arkansas Tech University Jazz Ensemble will offer their final scheduled performance of the 2016-17 academic year on Friday, April 21.

The concert will begin at 7:30 p.m. in Witherspoon Auditorium. Admission will be free and open to the public.

Pieces included on the program include “Paq-Man” by Hilario Duran, “Birdland” by Josef Zawinul, “Belly Roll” by Quincy Jones, “Always and Forever” by Pat Metheny, “Watermelon Man” by Herbie Hancock and “Channel One Suite” by Bill Reddie.

Members of the ATU Jazz Ensemble include (an asterisk denotes principal player or section leader):

*Jarod Apple – Alto, Flute
Tina Christiansen – Alto, Tenor, Rhythm Section
Jackie Seres – Alto, Tenor , Bari, Rhythm Section
Ger Vang – Alto, Tenor, Flute, Clarinet
Jordan Davis – Alto, Tenor, Flute
Cole Birmingham – Tenor, Bari

*Nathan Andrews
*Trevor Gould
Dalton Snow
David Hall
Drake Hayche
*Alex Evans
Jacob Hawkins
Holden Jones
Alex Smith – Bass

*Payton Crawford – Drums
Ian Neiswender – Drums
Michael Barker – Bass
Matthew French – Piano
Megan Garrett – Piano
Jacob Skinner – Guitar

Learn more about the ATU Department of Music.

Opening Reception Saturday at Norman Hall

“Project 14,” a graphic design senior exhibition at Arkansas Tech University, will host its opening reception on Saturday, April 22, at the Norman Hall Art Gallery.

The reception will take place from 6:30-8 p.m. Admission will be free and open to the public.

The exhibit includes graphic design artwork by the following ATU seniors:

  • Kimaly Ballard of Clarksville
  • Hanna Bauer of Malvern
  • Santana Foster of Havana
  • Zeke Mascuilli of Guatemala City, Guatemala
  • Amanda McCormick of Ozark
  • Christopher Nam of Rogers
  • Trang Nguyen of Nha Trang, Vietnam
  • Jackson Schmitt of Mountain Home
  • Carter Smith of Springdale
  • Deondra Swanigan of Marion
  • Shelby Taylor of Dover
  • Carlee Williams of Dover
  • Lexie Wood of Floral
  • Colleen Wooten of Omaha, Neb.

“Project 14” will remain on display at Norman Hall Art Gallery, located at 203 West Q Street on the ATU campus in Russellville, through Monday, May 1.

The gallery is open weekdays from 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Learn more about the ATU Department of Art.